1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this what I think it is ?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by paulfoley, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +101
    Is this what I think it is i.e. a box that takes your High Def, HDCP encrypted picture & converts it to an unprotected VGA signal. If it is then it may be the simple answer to all those frustrated early adopters of LCD TV's & high def plasmas ?

    Link

    :thumbsup:
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Err, yes it is. ;)

    Steve
     
  3. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +101
    I'm starting to doubt it now. The example picture shows only a PC. Now am I right in saying that a PC's DVI Graphics card can ouput both digital & analogue signals? Perhaps the box will only tap into the HDCP signal if the source has analogue as well i.e. it wont work with a High Def Sat Box ?

    :confused:
     
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    It says DVi-D which is digital only. Have a close look at the link and the specs of this adapter. Its ideal for those who dont have an HDCP TV!

    Still, you wont get the proper resolution right? Not if using analog RGB?
     
  5. mi_july

    mi_july
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't you? I mean surely the resolution wouldnt change?
     
  6. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    This box of wonder has been discussed on here before. See previous thread(s).

    Mike.
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +611
    The box simply transcodes dvi to rgbhv, and you can not get hdcp on rgbhv so yes it does what you think it does, and is being used by loads of crt owners in the states.

    There will be hundreds of variations on this when really needed.
     
  8. Litch

    Litch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    My Sony Plasma is capable of receiving HD, but only via component (3xRCA).

    I guess I would need to get and vga to component converter too. Wonder what that will do to the PQ :( DVI-I > vga > vga > component is this even possible?

    As you say, maybe when the demand is there, there will be lots of little black boxes. As I'm not in a hurry to buy a new display.
     
  9. laser

    laser
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +28
    Would anyone know if a HDMI to DVI converter cable would work with this box?
     
  10. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    I don't see why it shouldn't - that's what I'll be using when the time comes.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...