is this true!!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Gary D, Aug 20, 2004.

  1. Gary D

    Gary D
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
  2. Daneel

    Daneel
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    No. If you have iLink or Denon link on both your DVD-A/SACD player and on your processor then you can do it digitally.
     
  3. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,200
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,674
    With very very few (expensive) exceptions, yes this is true. Copyright and other data transfer niceties are a contributor to this.

    EDIT and yes I currently consider all ilink/denon link units to be expensive in the great scheme of things.
     
  4. Gary D

    Gary D
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    i thought my day was going to well. So i have to find 3 RCA leads (that will be just generic cables) to connect this up, just so i can play one SACD? Worst of all i have to "unbuild" the living room to get to the back of everything. aaaarrrrgggghhhhh!!!!!!

    christ i wish sony would go out of business and stop trying to so facking different all the time!!!

    BALLS!!!

    Thanks for the replies. AAAAAARRRRRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

    Gary
     
  5. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,200
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,674
    Well it isn't just sony in this instance. This is also why my AV rack has wheels.
     
  6. Gary D

    Gary D
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    i was just a bit upset at the thought of deconstructing the system just to put the leads in. (wheels, i had wheels once but on the hard wood floor the wholoe just kept moving about)

    anyway i've done it now and Dark side of the Moon sounded fab. it was worth the effort :clap: :clap: :clap:


    Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice