Is this the most that the signal quality will go on a Pace box V2?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tvdavid, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
  2. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    mines never on max either, but does it really matter?
     
  3. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
    Ever since I have had my 80 cm dish signals never gone down in heavy Rain or storms.
    The ones sky give you are crap because it dont take much for the signal to go.
     
  4. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    The signal meters in the Sky dodgiboxes (as well as virtually all other satellite receivers) are not accurate and not consistent between boxes. I own four Sky boxes and between them (on the same cable and the same lnb output) the signal strength readings vary between 40% and 90% (even between tuners on the same Sky+ box).

    The meters are meant to be merely indicative for fine tuning.
     
  5. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,304
    If I set ITV to record on mine , I get a reading like that on my standard dish .
    Unfortunatly if I set Movies Premier to record I get No Signal . Not quite pointing at eurobird1 you see :( .

    John
     
  6. johnny777

    johnny777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +216
    Signal Strength isn't really important....it's the quality that counts (or so they tell me :devil: ). However, I would have expected more on an 80cm dish. I have a Zone 2 mini-dish, which is significantly smaller than 80cm, and I get similar quality readings to your picture from all 4 of my boxes (all different). As others have said though, these meters are far from accurate, so not sure how much you can count on them.
     
  7. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
    We had our first storm the other day and there was very heavy rian for about 10 mins and my signal still went of on my 80cm dish.
    I think it could be lined up better maybe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...