1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this the best way?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by barneybelly, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. barneybelly

    barneybelly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

    Just got myself a new tv and have set it up with my other equipment. I have set it up like this,

    LCD TV to Panasonic dvd recorder via component cables

    LCD tV (rgb scart) to tv scart on sky box

    Panasonic dvd recorder (AV2 scart) to vcr scart on sky box

    Is this the best way as i have AV1 on dvd and AV1 on tv empty (should they be used in any way?)
    Also the rf aerial is going straight from source direct into tv...again is this the best place for it?
    And finally...what kind of settings am i looking at putting the tv, sky box, dvd on if i have them setup like above?
    Sorry for sounding like a novice but i am and i just want the best way possible!!

    Cheers

    :smashin:
     
  2. barneybelly

    barneybelly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anybody help?.......... :lease:
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I would say that the cabling is correct as it is making use of the best possible picture opportunities.

    I don't understand your questions about the settings though :confused:
     
  4. barneybelly

    barneybelly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Ianj,

    Sorry...i meant the settings on each of the dvd, tv etc when you go into the menus and change the internal settings to correspond with the connection you have set up.
     
  5. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +487
    Make sure the outputs are all RGB enabled int the menus of both the VCR and SKY. ensure that you are using the RGB scart on the TV, only one scart on my TV will accept RGB. I would then use one of the THX Optimode DVDs theres one on Terminator 2 and also Fight club and one of the Toy Story discs amongs others. The tests containded within will help you set up the correct levels and geometry of the picture.
     
  6. barneybelly

    barneybelly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that...off to Fight Club i go!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...