Is this Samsung any good?

nathanb

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hello Camcorder experts,

I'm new to camcorders but am looking to buy one very soon for my hols. I dont want anything OTT just a good every day camcorder. Is this one from Curry's worth buying for £229? It seems like it has good optical zoom and is a nice looking peice of kit. I also like the fact it records straight to disc.

http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/sto...ijgcflgceggdhhmdgml.0&page=Product&sku=917719

Any help is highly appreciated.

Cheers in advance!

To be fair I've not seen any footage from that camcorder, but every bit of Samsung camcorder footage and reviews I've seen to date have been poor.

Combine that with it being DVD format - which yes does give some convienence, but the issue is that if anything goes wrong (e.g. the disc fails to finalise, which I've seen many reports of people experiencing) you are stuffed. DVD usually works but is not reliable enough to be used for your master recording (in my view).

Harsh? Was it? I don't know. We see so many tales of woe on here of DVD's not finalising that we become biased against it as a primary recording/mastering medium.

Tape is the safest. The DCR-HC96 I linked to is the very top of the range in Sony's MiniDV camcorder line. It is just discontinued now by Sony and is being discounted by the likes of eBuyer. It represents truly staggering value for money.

Sorry for being a complete noob but what does 'not finalising' mean?

It has 2 or 3 things (not) going for it

DVD as recording format
Samsung; They make lovely Displays and monitors.... I think the camcorder division is needing to catch up by a long stretch
Price

A slightly costlier, non-DVD Panasonic, JVC, Sony or Canon model would be rather more encouraging to feel you would get more out of it
This is not in any way "gadget snobbery" :nono:( just a combination of day to day experience, threads on here and other respected reviews) It isnt Samsung bashing too