1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this really the Sony HD5??

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by danwalton, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    Hey, go to amazon.co.uk and search for 'nw-hd5'. Is that picture really what it says it is? Why would amazon unveil it before Sony? I'm not convinced...
     
  2. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thx 4 that but do you think it's smaller than my hd3 it dosn't reallt lok lik it will be. it could be 40 gb or 60gb but wouldn't it have a colour screen werid isn't it
     
  3. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    i really dont know, i just searched on google and it threw up some jap pages i cant read (but could make out '20GB HD5'), so might just be another 20GB HDD. Who knows yet? Note the playlist option on the menu though... real playlists? Lets hope so, but I'm not sure I like the design, especially compared to my HD1
     
  4. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    what's the point in another 20gb when the hd1 and hd3 are perfect and since sony have released there flash ones its only microdrives (4-6) and the big big harddrives left(40-60)
     
  5. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    hehe maybe they've invented another atrac style compression format which enables you to get a million songs on to a 20GB HDD? Atrac 4++? I'm sure it would catch on...
     
  6. mrtbag

    mrtbag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Anywhere I want
    Ratings:
    +395
    It doesn't seem right.

    Sony have a deal with Amazon. When you enter the site (electronics and photo section) there is a specific link at the top to the Sony section. These are not listed in the Sony section!!
     
  7. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    click on the silver one and click more pictures . it does the flip from postive 2 negative. and it seems to be maybe smaller than the hd3/1
     
  8. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doing a quick search on google yields:

    Camera Centre Dublin NWHD5 (Available June 05) € TBA

    They should of at least bumped the drive up to the Toshiba 30 Gig model though. Guess its a cost saving measure.
     
  9. peteyoung

    peteyoung
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    well according to:

    http://www.engadget.com/entry/1234000550038938/
    and
    http://www.engadget.com/entry/1234000420038937/

    looks like it infact is the hd5, but personally i think its a complete backwards step, it looks no smaller than the hd3, sure the screen looks bigger and looks like it will have playlists and may even have a longer battery life, but im sure a firmware upgrade for the hd1/hd3 will be available like there was when the hd3 was released for the hd1, but this time to support playslists. But the buttons are revolting i personally think anyway, it also looks like it may be fatter than the hd3 aswell, i think im more than happy with my hd3 :D
     
  10. shelteringsky

    shelteringsky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah... it seems that in the new version there is a playlist available. Hope Sony upgrades the firmware from the HD3 (like they did with HD1 and native mp3), so the inside is like HD5
     
  11. Stahlhart!

    Stahlhart!
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry but it doesn't look like sony... it more looks like crap, they should stick to the kind of design they used with the hd1/hd3!
     
  12. FifeFlyer

    FifeFlyer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look at the date on Amazon - 1st April. Are they just playing an April Fools joke?? :)
     
  13. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118

    I did wonder that, but to be honest i'm not laughing. It looks cheap and tacky. Def a real step backwards from their previous designs. However, the firmware upgrade seems tempting, if they release it for the hd1/3. Shame its gone portrait too, I really liked the landscape format of the last two, and although it seems the screen can be rotated through 90 degrees, it just looks more rediculous on its side. Please try again Sony!
     
  14. Akasan

    Akasan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    according to sony.co.uk this is no joke. Doesn't look as nice as the hd3 (which I had but returned but now want it back) but it is supposed to have an easily replaceable battery that lasts up to 40 hours. I will be getting this (would they release this in europe and not in the US? if not, i will be very mad)
     
  15. sbradnam

    sbradnam
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    it's true - go to the Sony.co.uk web site and look at the home page! Red, silver, black. 40hr, removable battery, and SS 3.1

    I've only had the HD3 for 4 months!! Out of date already.....damn!!
     
  16. constantine_jk

    constantine_jk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Can you provide the link for the sony UK where the hd5 is mentioned? I went to www.sony.co.uk but I could not find it. I really want to see it as I am about to buy the hd3....

    Thanks
     
  17. Akasan

    Akasan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  18. shelteringsky

    shelteringsky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think it´s nice, and with long lasting battery! Also seems to feature new functions. It´s a pity that I own a brand new hd3...

    Wish we can upgrade our firmware!
     
  19. peteyoung

    peteyoung
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    we probably will be able to, just like with the hd1, the only bad thing i see from this coming out at £200 according to
    http://www.pocket-lint.co.uk/news.php?newsId=1080
    is that the price of the hd3 will now drop, atleast its another month until its out and im plenty happy with the battery life i now have, i personally do not like the buttons myself so i prefer the hd3's features
     
  20. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well it says 3.1 sonicstage so is this newer than 3 or is it just the euro version
     
  21. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    That's a good point actually, maybe we in Europe wont be betting 3.0 for download at all? Anyone got any ideas?
     
  22. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Looking at the pictures on Amazon, you can see that the HD5 operates off a root menu, like the ipod, zen, and just about every other player! I think navigation will be easier with this than with the HD1/3. And the fact that when turned on its side the screen will AUTOMATICALLY turn 90 degrees is very cool! And 40 hour battery life kicks every other HD player I can think of!
     
  23. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but have you seen how tacky those button's look and the hd3 still has more colour's. though to you think that you could get a firmware update has i can't see any mode or menu button's
     
  24. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    I just had a thought. On the sony.co.uk page it says batteries will be available on the highstreet, which is a great feature. I wonder whether these batteries will be compatable with the HD1/3? I know it lasts longer, but it might work? It'd be great if in a couple of year's time I can buy a replacement battery for my HD1 and replace it myself...
     
  25. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12

    Just noticed something. Go to:

    http://www.sony.co.uk/PageView.do?s...man/PAW+Network+Walkman&productsku=NWHD5B.CEK

    I think you have to go in IE, cos it doesn't seem to work in FireFox.

    Now spin the player round, so you can see the back. And zoom in. It says "AtracAD MP3". So is it safe to assume that AtracAD is a new format? I think a million songs is a bit excessive, but still!


    Actually I'm not sure if that link works. But you want to go to Sony.co.uk, and find the 3D view of the player.
     
  26. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no it still can only carry up to 13000 as it says so if you read carefully
     
  27. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it does work with firefox and maybe it is just better qualtily
     
  28. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    Yea I spotted that 'Atrac AD' about 2 seconds ago, its strange it isn't mentioned anywhere in the press release. Yeah a million songs is probably a bit too far, but I'm interested in this new format. I'm suprised there's no colour screen though, I thought the next Sony HDD player would be in direct competition with the iPod photo. Still, look at that battery life! (and then look at those HORRIBLE buttons)
     
  29. Calza

    Calza
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think it was a mistake as when you look at the tech it's atrac and mp3 playback. though to connect it to your pc you have to slide back that bit beside the hold switch.
     
  30. wanda

    wanda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    blimey all this hot the heels of the HD3 which I thought was lovely and a bit of a hark back to teh good ol' days of sony's walkman era. I guess they really really wanna challenge the ipod market.

    It is smaller and lighter but personally I don't like the buttons either although the screen flips round depending on which way you hold it up! bit gimmicky but I guess if it's at the bottom of your pocket could be useful?

    Why Amazon though?
     

Share This Page

Loading...