1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this possible?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by gilesm, Mar 8, 2003.

1. gilesm

gilesm
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dear all

I'm thinking about getting freeview, but I really want it on all of the TVs in the house except the one in the lounge (I have Sky + there). Now I have an idea and I'm not sure how whacky it is - I'm not too technical I'm affraid.

I have a 6 way distributer in the roof which is taking a feed from a standard arial and a FM arial and is pumping that signal to 4 rooms. What I thought of doing (if it's possible) is placing the freeview box before the distributer in the roof, so the main arial goes directly into the freeview box and out into the diustributer and hence around the house. Is this possible?

Also if it is, can anyone recommend a IR controller system that I can use from each room to switch the freeview box in the roof?

Giles

2. Pod Person

Pod Person

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not an installer so this is a educated guess...

I would think this is possible as long as the freeview box has a rf output like a vcr has. You would have to tune the various tv's into the freeview box's rf output channel. The STB to avoid here would be Pace as they don't have an rf output socket. But veiwing via STB rf means the sound will be MONO only.

But the distribution amp in the loft of yours would have to be a single solo amplifier (like the ones sold in argos or diy stores). If it is part of a masthead amp, then its not possible to site the STB before the distribution amp as far as I know because this amp is sending a specific current/voltage to the masthead box, (usually located externally on the aerial pole).

I can't help with the IR controller system part of your question.

Hope this is of some help.