1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is this any good?komplett htpc kit?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by TopMeTom, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
  2. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's not a bad starting point. The Sapphire board is exactly the same (minus fireware) as the EQS/Optronix boards which are highly rated for HTPC.
    Silvertsone case is nice (but huge), the only thing I couldn't comment of is the PSU, but for £515 it's a good buy I'd say
     
  3. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Anyone else?Or any other recommendations people?
     
  4. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Hi,

    What software were you planning on using for your 'front end' that is the GUI where you access all your media files (via remote control usually)? If you were thinking of using Windows Media Center Edition, not sure if all these parts are compatible. If you are using something else it will probably be fine.

    lisa
     
  5. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
  6. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Well you have an infinite amount of options open to you, maybe you should think about what you want to use it for, and how you want to operate it, and how much you want to spend?

    I use Windows MCE on a shuttle, it was quite a budget buy (relatively) and works very well (eventually) but.... there are plenty of other options.
     
  7. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    I like budget:)

    where did you get yours from,if I may ask?
     
  8. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
  9. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    I would swap the 6200 geforce for a 6600gt fanless as this card is good at displaying HD material.

    Nice to see these companies doing a bundles, it should bring down prices of ready made HTPC's.

    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...