1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this an MCE problem ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by dUnKle, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,411
    Take a look at the picture below

    [​IMG]

    As you can see the image fills the screen fine (set to 720res) - however when I watch a film I get black borders at the left and right of the image - as shown below

    [​IMG]

    Is the an MCE problem ?
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +335
    Strange, it's not something I experience - what dvd codec are you using? Is there a way of adjusting overscan for full screen video only?
     
  3. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Nice TV...I want one....Oh nice case I had the exact one myself, but sold it so I could get a smaller one, with more ventilation...
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,411
    Im using PowerDVD

    Is there a better one I should be using ?
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +335
    Nvidia dvd codec is popular, it might be an idea to try the free trial and see if it solves your problem?
    lisa
     
  6. Ch0pper

    Ch0pper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Try Theatertek.. It insalls the nvidia codeccs (the latest ones too when you buy it and upgrade to 2.1).

    A great player.. Nice and tweakable, plus it allows post processing if you use a compatible nVidia card.. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...