Question Is this a problem with Av receiver or sky box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Such, May 2, 2016.

  1. Such

    Such
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +174
    I posted this in the amp/receiver forum, but thought I'd try here too:

    I have my denon x5200 connected to my samsung H7500 (via new evolution box) and devices going through the denon.
    The sky box input is set to passthrough on the denon.

    I have been getting display hdcp 2.2 error messages frequently when starting a "watch sky" activity on my harmony. This is with the denon off. I have to restart the box and it is then ok. Also switching on the denon then shows sky programs.
    I am also experiencing sound drop outs when watching with amp on and via passthrough. This happens infrequently, but when it does, the sound will drop out often enough to spoil what is being watched. rewinding and then playback the sound is ok. Connection is via HDMI and optical.
    This does not happen on any other source.

    Denon suggest it may be a problem with the HDMI board, but could it be the sky box? I've had the sky box since june 2015

    Thanks
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,022
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    See Rule 8 - which one do you want to keep?
    As a first step disable HDMI-CEC if not already done.
     
  3. Such

    Such
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +174
    Sorry was not aware of that! thought I might this may be a good place to post just in case it was a Sky box issue.

    HDMI control disabled on all devices

    Thanks
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,022
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    Yes, this is OK.
    Why do you have both HDMI and optical?
     
  5. Such

    Such
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +174
    I don't seem to get 5.1 using HDMI. If i set HDMI to 5.1 on the sky box, I get no sound on the TV when amp is off. setting HDMI to normal passesn sound to tv when amp is off.
    So I use optical for 5.1
    I'm sure there must be a way around this?
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,022
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    I use the amplifier all the time for Sky.
    Can't you do this without using the passthrough setting?
     
  7. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,580
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,330
    All that means is that your TV cannot decode the DD signal and needs normal stereo. What happens if you connect Sky box direct to TV? Simple diagnosis to see whether fault is with Sky box or Denon.
     
  8. Such

    Such
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +174
    I could but don't want to use the amp all the time for normal TV
    I'll try that for a week and see how it is.
    Thanks
     
  9. Such

    Such
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +174
    So far no probs with sound drop outs or HDCP errors,
    looks like amp going for repair next week:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice