1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this a normal sound

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by thesnowman, Jan 1, 2004.

1. thesnowman

thesnowman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    I just recieved my Pioneer 313 yesturday, I've been testing it out all day and found no problems with the system until I paused the player whilst watching a dvd that I can hear a slight humming sound coming from the speakers, the sound is not load but is noticable if I'm really close to the speakers

when I mute the system no sound appears from any of the speakers
    when I pause the system or switch the volume level to 0 the sound is noticable

I don't know if this a normal sound with this system or in general since I am still pretty new to all this home cinema

but if anyone has any answers to this question I would be very greatful

2. bonzobanana

bonzobanana

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +220
    Interesting that theres a difference between muting the sound and setting to volume 0. This isn't normal behaviour on most home cinema systems but sounds like a minor design problem on the Pioneer but nothing to worry about. Pausing a dvd and turning volume down to 0 both have the effect of reducing load on the psu. Maybe the psu board in these tend to get a bit noisy when they are not under load.

3. thesnowman

thesnowman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Do you know if muting the sound cuts off the power to the speakers? if so maybe I should try out different speaker cables to see wheather this makes a difference to the set-up

any pioneer DCS-313 owners out there please let me know if this is normal or wheather the system I recieved is faulty.

4. thesnowman

thesnowman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8