Is this a mad idea ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by nicke20, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. nicke20

    nicke20
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have bought an iscan hd+, I have redecorated my lounge putting all speaker cables in the wall for 9 speakers plus the sub, I have burried a power cable wireworld hdmi to dvi cable and a vandamme vga cable in the wall for my plasma.
    The problem is I bottled and cancelled the plasma (PHd7) for two reasons, the lack of sky hd support and the fact that panny will announce new pannels this month.

    So to the plan bit.

    Buy a phd6 from richers for £1099 and use it for a year then sell it for ?? £750 ish or would it be wothless by then ? because of the hd issue ?. Id love to move it to another room but I aint got enough money to do that or should I sit it out and have cables dangling out of walls for 6-9 months

    You never know the 8 series may even fit a 6 series wall mount !
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    the HD+ makes the panny compatible with Sky HD by doing FRC so yes it is a mad idea!!!!! Also 8 series will be more like august for stock into the UK!
     
  3. nicke20

    nicke20
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Yep but Im not keen on the frame rate conversion, otherwise id have kept the hd7. August ? thats 6 months away :eek:
     
  4. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    If you're a Panny man I would get the PHD6 and run it DVI and VGA (DVI for HDCP protected stuff, VGA for where picture quality is important lol). HD-DVD will be expensive when it gets here, but you'll likely be buying US discs for it so 60Hz limit is no biggy. HDTV will also be expensive when it arrives, and will have bugger all content for a very long time. When you do get the service (which might be early '06, or might not be till late '07) then see for yourself the affect FRC has and when it does annoy then consider a new plasma. By which time I imagine technology and pricing will have moved on quite a way...
     
  5. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think its the PWD6 and not the PHD6 @ richers for £1099.

    Please correct me if I am wrong as I will have to find some more money if Richers are selling the PHD at this price.
     
  6. nicke20

    nicke20
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    yep im wrong I did mean the standard pwd6
    sorry its was late, hence the mad idea

    Liam, why do you think I put a vga cable in the wall also ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice