1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this a decent HTPC set up?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by stapp, Jun 24, 2005.

  1. stapp

    stapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not bad
    What do you need to connect to? If you just need s-video/composite/VGA then I'd ditch the motherboard and 9550 and get an EQS M62K8-MLF socket motherboard which comes with a PCI-Epress X300 built in.
    The silverstone case is nice if you have the room - It might be worth also looking at their LC14 which is the same size, but also has play/pause/stop/rew/ffd etc buttons on the front
     
  3. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    Might want to think about getting a nebula freeview tuner instead, www.nebula-electronics.co.uk - much better reputation than the other brands.

    graphics wise the nvidia 6600GT are meant to shade it in terms of picture quality but it will depend on what type of video connection you're using and what you're watching it on whether it'd be worth the extra cost.

    For cases I don't think there's any as good as the claritas ones from stands unique, have a look in the powerbuy section, they'll fit on a normal hifi rack too.

    HTH
    owain
     
  4. stapp

    stapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies. I was thinking about this Samsung LCD for everyday TV,surfing etc. Is it a good choice?
    The thing is, i'd also like to be able to connect to my Epson TW1OH for DVDs.
    Do you know how I could do this?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Nebula doesn't work with MCE yet though - unless they've recently (FINALLY) released some BDA drivers for it
     
  6. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What inputs does your TW1OH have?
     
  7. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    You don't have to use MCE though...

    you could connect the PJ to one output on your gfx card and the LCD to another.
     
  8. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    nice looking samsung screen btw, might have to look into one of those when we move....
     
  9. stapp

    stapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    The epson has component, s-video & a computer monitor port(?) if this helps.
     
  10. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    most modern gfx cards have dual output, you can connect one to the computer input on the epson (VGA port) and one to the samsung TV. not sure from that link if the samsung has a digital input (DVI/HDMI) but if it did that would be best, if not just VGA would be fine.
     
  11. stapp

    stapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great. Thanks for all your help.
     
  12. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
    For quiet fans, check out Zalman for CPU fans, and QuietPC.com for case fans, any on there will be fine. Acoustifan is what ive just put in my new HTPC build and it makes alot of difference. Dont forget the PSU needs to be quiet too. Ive got the Tagan 400w and its quiet..very quiet produces a fair bit of heat out the back mind.
    Ive got the Silverstone LS13 and its HUGE, fantastic case though.
    The 6600GT is a great card as it comes with a component/Svideo breakout box, once you have worked out how to get the software to output Component that is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...