Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Is this a cheap line doubler ? (scan today only)

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by flibble, Jun 19, 2003.

  1. flibble

    flibble
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is a small device on scans website that looks like it might well be a line doubler

    http://www.scan.co.uk/todayonly/

    81 ukp today, 104 normally.

    Some specs

    scan conversion 15.75 to 31.5KHz
    composite, svideo and vga input, vga output.
    built in tv tuner.
    audio pass through

    I believe it's main purpose is to allow you to view tv pictures on your computer monitor (that normally don't go as low as 15.75KHz).

    This might be an ideal cheap solution for people like me who are trying to get a composite interlaced to progressive rgb convertor whilst being on a fairly tight budget.

    I'm very tempted to buy this as currently I have interlaced composite and svideo sources going to the projector (barco 800 data).
    Does anoyone have any experience with these sorts of devices?
    And is this a good price?

    Peter

    ps I don't think I've broken any forums rules related to commercialness (I don't work for scan or anything), but if I have can a moderator please slap me :)
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +795
    there is loads about this unit on this forum if you do a search.

    it is a fair price for a fair picture, It will be better than interlaced in my opinion,and you will get rid of scanlines, but there are far better but like everything in life better generaly cost more.

    for £80 I doubt you will be disapointed :)
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Yeah this is a basic line doubler. It will function perfectly fine for the job you want it to do. But it will limit the picture quality of the display.

    If you can wait a bit and afford an Iscan Pro @ approx £400.
     
  4. flibble

    flibble
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your help, do you know the manufacturer of this box? I couldn't see a makers badge on the pictures, so searching for more info is being a little tricky :)

    ReTrO: I think 400 ukp is a bit more than I would be willing to pay (compared to the price of the projector), but from what I've read here the Iscan is supposed to be very good.
     
  5. flibble

    flibble
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's ok, I've found the manufacturer :)
     
  6. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +134
    Hi,

    It's the ProV or XGA theater.... it's recently been updated to a new model but at that price it's pretty good little unit. We use a couple of XGA theater units to 'scale' video sources in our lecture rooms at work.

    Brian
     
  7. Blighty_Boy

    Blighty_Boy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hold on a minute I bought a device for £35 that does exactly this !!! it allows you to get an SVHS / composite input and display it on a computer monitor here is something similar please comment ???

    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=23&products_id=3166&

    Really look at this because I think you will be impressed
     
  8. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Not bad. Lets hope it's better than my Cheese Box, which has loadsa video noise.
     
  9. Blighty_Boy

    Blighty_Boy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine works brilliantly they sell it @ computer fairs (where I got mine) labbeled up as the only was to get super sharp Pic's from a PS2/XBOX but bear in mind I only drive a 21" Hitachi computer monitor (I know its nothing compared to a big PJ screen) with it but I cant see any scan lines on it and it works flawlessly
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    How does it do input selection?
     
  11. Blighty_Boy

    Blighty_Boy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The one pictured is auto but my one is a little older I have a button that cycles through Svhs Composite and the 15 pin D connector (standard monitor) Pass through ( im not certain if the pass through could accept a 15Khz RGB signal and line double it or if it is solely a pass through for the monitor ) but it defo works for SHVS and composite !!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice