Is there such a thing as a prog. player with NO problems?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by KraGorn, Sep 21, 2003.

  1. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I'm in the market for a prog. player, mainly PAL, to go with my AE300 ... using an HTPC is proving a pain and I probably will abandon the idea ... so I came here to research and learn ...

    ... only to find there's no such thing as a perfect DVD player that doesn't cost the earth.

    Seems every time someone asks "what's the best player" (s)he gets replies about various Sony, Harman, Toshiba etc. etc. which point out problems is 'this' area or 'that' area .. players like the 2900 reportedly freeze on some DVDs, 2800MkIIs can't de-interlace properly etc. etc. Then there's stupidities like the 'chroma bug'.

    Is this tech. REALLY so bleeding edge the manufacturers can't get it right? :eek:
     
  2. Mogli

    Mogli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +124
    As far as i know the Pioneer 757 now has a progressive firmware update and i havent read about anyone having any problems.

    I have a 656 and i am v impressed by the build and quality of the picture. I am sure the 757 would be able to surpass it especially in progressive mode.
     
  3. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pioneer's have Chroma bug.

    Apparently the Panasonic RP-91K is very good, Chroma free, Progressive. But it's a 110V Region 1 player, NTSC Progressive only. And probably discontunied.
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I read this comparative review of prog. scan players but it's an American site and their recommended players aren't sold here, or at least if they are they've different product codes, also of course the review looked at NTSC only.

    Trouble with the 757 is it's expensive with whiz-bang features I don't want .. SACD and DVD-A to name but two .. I just want a decent DVD player with progressive scan that works, why doesn't anyone make something simple like that without overloading the features? :(

    AIUI the 757 is only available with PS in a modded form .. HomeCinemaHeaven being onesuch .. how come the manufacturers don't make them as standard?
     
  5. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone please give me a quick idea what the chroma bug is, or point me to a thread which explains it.

    Cheers
     
  6. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. JFDI

    JFDI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problems with my HK DVD25 (used with Panasonic 5 series plasma).

    Would seem to meet your requirements.

    Cheers

    :)
     
  8. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Another happy DVD25 user. :)

    Sadly the Harman devices weren't in that huge review so it's not possible to know how well they stack up against those that were. If nothing else that review showed that progressive scan DVDs are very, very far from equal. :sigh:
     
  9. Nike

    Nike
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    bournemouth, UK.
    Ratings:
    +18
    The 757ai is PAL prog out of the box if you buy one new now.
    The upgrade is offered for existing owners.
     
  10. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    How would one know if it's "new" or old stock?

    Also, do these come without multi-region hacks? AIUI these are always third-party mods of some sort which I read can break normal functionality.
     
  11. Nike

    Nike
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    bournemouth, UK.
    Ratings:
    +18
    The new ones have a sticker on the front saying that they are PAL PS. You'd have to check with the supplier.
    Mine was supplied MR (from LEConcepts) couldn't say how they did it though.
     
  12. lukes

    lukes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,131
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +110
    MY HK25 is good (no bugs as far as I am aware), it buggered up on displaying subtitles - nothing a soft reset didn't sort.
     
  14. DpM

    DpM
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,295
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    High Wycombe, UK
    Ratings:
    +833
    No problems with my HK25, and lovin it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...