Is there such a device called Component Switcher?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by coolsurfer, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. coolsurfer

    coolsurfer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was just wondering wether a component switcher exists. I only have 1x Mark Grant component, scart, s-video and phono leads plastered in my wall and was wondering that in the future when HD TV is common the feeds will probably be component. However, as I only have 1 component lead which will go to my DVD(or maybe Blu-Ray) player I wont be able to get progressive TV unless theres a component splitter.
     
  2. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    I use the component switcher, but I know some people have had problems with the same one as me, this one is meant to be excellent:

    http://www.digitalconnection.com/products/video/1154a.asp

    Newer AV amps will also switch component, although most only switch 2 or 3 inputs at the moment.
     
  3. coolsurfer

    coolsurfer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that mate. I can now relax knowing that such as device exists!

    Am I right in thinking this is how a HD signal will be passed to a PLASMA?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,168
    Coolsurfer

    There's a box of tricks for every occasion - keep in mind much of what us 'Consumers' are trying to do these days is old hat in the Broadcast and AV world.

    There are plenty of modern AV Receivers with multiple YUV switching - though not all of them will have a clean enough signal path once you start to introduce HD signals.

    As Horny says there are also stand alone YUV/RGBHV switchers - I import the Zektor range to the UK and these start at around £240 for a 4:1 with Digital Audio switching and programmable IR control. See http://www.zektor.com

    The only potential problem with your set up is the lack of a Digital Video cable - you would have been well advised to install a DVI or HDMI cable.

    HDMI in particular is the way forward for a lot of the hardware manufacturers - it keeps them on-side with the Movie produces who love the fact that HDMI is an encrypted signal.

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice