Is there something that does this?

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by Damien, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Damien

    Damien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    My stepdad is converting me ovet to Mac and i am thinking of getting the imac for use at home. I have a question though:

    Is there a way i can download a movie from the net on the imac. Then play it on the imac and transfer it wirelessly to my Plasma TV?

    I heard that the airport could be plugged into the TV.

    Be gently as i am a newbie on the Macs

    D
     
  2. TimGTi

    TimGTi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +73
    Take a look at Apple TV, hope this helps. :)
     
  3. Damien

    Damien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37

    Cheers Tim, just been reading about that but i do not think you can download a movie from a Torrent or something that is already on you computer and use that. It has to come through itunes?

    I might be wrong.
    D
     
  4. Kahayes

    Kahayes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    You can do what you are looking to do with a PS3 and a £10 bit of software called Medialink by Nullriver. Just did this the other day.

    There may be cheaper ways of doing it (Im not sure) but you get a bluray player and games console with the PS3 anyway, so its not bad value at all.:)
     
  5. Damien

    Damien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    :thumbsup:Already have a PS3
     
  6. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,101
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +15,526
    The difficulty becomes getting the files in the right format for the PS3. I find it such a hassle to 1) not re-encode (as that takes ages) and 2) get AC3-5.1 out, that I've given up on it....

    Much quicker and easier to burn on a disc on the Mac and play on a decent DVD player like the Pioneer DV600...
     
  7. Kahayes

    Kahayes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thats probably true. I dont have surround sound so the 5.1 doesnt bother me, but if Damien already has a PS3, the Medialink is well worth a £10 play around with.
     
  8. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,101
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +15,526
    I was so focussed on the PS3 element that I didn't see the mention about Medialink before. That looks quite interesting as it overcomes item number 3 I had against it since the PS3 only understand FAT32 it is no good for 4Gb>files to transfer....This could overcome that...But better have thin walls and ceilings or hardwire them together as streaming of HiDef material wireless won't be pretty...
     
  9. Kahayes

    Kahayes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've got the Mac and the PS3 in the same room (at opposite sides) so no worries here, but I see your point. Normal video works flawlessly (unless the router gets interupted somehow - this occasionally happens wih mine, but i think its a router issue, rather than a medialink problem)
     
  10. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,101
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +15,526
    Take a look at whether your router support QoS. I use VoIP a lot and have setup some rules that it will guarantee minimum bandwidth for VoIP traffic over anything else that I do....
     
  11. Damien

    Damien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Thanks guys ,for the money it has got to be worth considering. The Mac will be at the other end of the room so should be ok. Alternatively i could just burn the movies to disk.

    Sorry i am just trying to get to grips with what i can downlaod and what i cant because of the difference between PC and MAC, this will be first MAC
    D
     
  12. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,101
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +15,526
    you can do it all on a mac no difference really.
     
  13. Damien

    Damien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Sorry, edited.
    D
     

Share This Page

Loading...