1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there some secret conspiracy for service menu access?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by boltoa, Dec 10, 2002.

  1. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +102
    I've done a search and looked through lots of threads, but although lots of people talk about service menu on Panny PW4/5/Tosh, details of actually getting to it appear to be by PM only. I would like to hope anyone on this forum would be vaguely clever enough not to do anything totally stupid with it, although I can only think this is the reason for not making it public.

    Anyway, can somebody tell me how to get into it?

    Or even PM me the details :).

    Ta, Andrew
     
  2. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    This has been posted before, but regardless here is how to get it:

    - Go into the setup menu (press "Set-Up" on remote).
    - Highlight the "OSD Language" option.
    - Press and hold "Surround" for a few seconds.

    The service menu should then appear.
     
  3. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    That isn't the 'service' menu, that the 'expert' menu.

    The features in that menu allow you to do some things, which arn't really "dangerous" (although a few features could cause you problems)

    There is a service menu which will allow you to do all kinds of nasty stuff, which is available by pressing some buttons on the front of the plasma and the remote at the same time, but I can't remember how to do it.

    Its not really that interesting and unless you have business being in the 'service' menu, its best left alone.

    But the 'expert' menu detailed by Codlord, should give you access to things that you need.
     
  4. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there some secret conspiracy for service menu access?

    it seems that way sometimes - trying to find info is cloak & dagger stuff

    I remember a while back wanting the same, and eventually found it, but saw nothing of interest to me

    so have never bothered since

    oh and I cant remember how I did it :D
     
  5. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +102
    I have now been sent info by PM, and thanks for the two people who did that. Given that they were PMd, I won't pass the info on publicly, even though I disagree with this personally. If someone is stupid enough to do anything silly in these menus, only that person should be held responsible, not the person who supplied the information.

    The link to the service manual pdf was excellent. I shall read all 172 pages with interest, even if I do absolutely nothing with the information :).

    Andrew
     
  6. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Boltoa,

    Any chance of a pointer towards the link to the 'service manual'?

    THanks in advance

    Jon
     
  7. alex f

    alex f
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, please post a link, it will give me something to read in my lunch break! :cool:
     
  8. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed, I wouldn't mind taking a look at that.

    John.
     
  9. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +102
    Sorry, I don't feel comfortable posting something publicly that was posted to me privately. If the person who PMd me it wishes to publicly post it, then fair enough. Personally, I would encourage them to do so :).

    Andrew
     
  10. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    OK then.. To the person who mailed Boltoa the link, I would be VERY grateful if you could point me in the direction of the service manual.

    I have no need for it now, but would like to have it on file incase I ever need it.

    Thanks in advance

    Jon
     
  11. nickt

    nickt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Many thanks Nick.. Any idea whether there is a manual for the service 5 too?
     
  13. nickt

    nickt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought you might ask that...

    No - sorry. You could try guessing the URL (this is a serious suggestion!). Or, my understanding is that the service manual name is the same as the user manual name but just change the first letter from b to a. So,

    User Manual http://www.support.panasonic.co.uk/...ual/Plasma Display Panels/TH/42PW4/b42pw4.pdf
    Service Manual http://www.support.panasonic.co.uk/...ual/Plasma Display Panels/TH/42PW4/a42pw4.pdf

    If you could get panasonic support to tell you the URL for the user manual, you might be able to use the same trick!
     
  14. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Bolt: The method to gain entry in to the service menu was changed by Panasonic to the current version. I presume this was done as th eold method was so freely available on the internet.

    That's why I wouldn't advocate proclaiming how you can do it so loudly. It's fine for you just now but what happens in the future. Anyway, you have your info now. Remember: With great power comes great responibility! ;)

    Gordon
     
  15. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Nick,

    I tried changing the PW4 to PW5 on the URL you listed, but it just doesn't work..

    Still the doc for the PW4 is more than enought to digest for now.. But it would be nice to get a PW5 manual, just for future reference.

    Again, thanks

    Jon
     
  16. bluebear

    bluebear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nickt,

    Thanks VERY VERY much for the link to the Panny D4 Service Manual !!!!

    Its just great, I have been looking for that for weeks.

    Now I can sleep at night, knowing that if my Panny goes faulty I will have a good chance of fixing it now.

    Just wonderful...

    Us engineers types do get a bit excited when we have a schematic in front of us, sad but true.

    Tip: Select the link and do a Mouse Right-Click and "save as" as the file is 28.2 MEG !!!
    <http://www.support.panasonic.co.uk/...ual/Plasma Display Panels/TH/42PW4/a42pw4.pdf>

    Thanks M8 for my Christmas Present,
    bluebear.
    :D :D :D :D :D
     
  17. nickt

    nickt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    bluebear,

    Nice to make somebody happy at Christmas - if only the kids were that easy to please!

    I certainly don't intend to go anywhere near my Panny with a screwdriver! Replacing the modem in my PC over the weekend was stressful enough : mind you, it took so bloomin long cos the modem I bought turned out to be faulty :-(

    Anyway, hope you never need the service manual!

    Cheers,

    Nick
     
  18. bluebear

    bluebear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nickt,

    I had a closer look at the Service Manual.

    WARNING: The manual Its VERY VERY scary, loads of analogue components and so huge digital processing chips that makes a PC look like a toy !!!

    I served my apprenticeship in the TV trade and then moved into embedded software and hardware design, so I used to this type of low level documentation. I just hope I never need to open up my plasma to fix it.
    I can now see why these plasmas cost so much, its just full of electronics.

    Also the software side (Serviceman mode) with its CAT (Computer Aided Test) mode looks very Frightening and should be left well alone.

    I would say to anyone, "whilst its working, then leave it alone" !!!!

    Some good bedtime reading…

    Regards,
    Bluebear.

    :p
     
  19. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
  20. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    I remember a friend played around with a service menu for his TV and switched off all three electron guns! In case you're wondering what this does, it switched off the red, the green, and the blue parts of the picture leaving you with a black screen. And no service menu is visible either. Power is nothing without control. He had the sense to write down every single move he made, and what settings were.

    For Joe Bloggs, there's not going to be much there to entertain yourself with. Best to get a good DVD up and running. Try Black Hawk Down with the surround sound amp cranked up to 11.

    Bluebear,
    what type of embedded systems do you do?

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  21. bluebear

    bluebear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    symanski ,
    I used to work in textiles designing industrial robot control systems (8051 based with CAN bus), this was very interesting work, but textiles is now dead in this country.

    My main embedded systems are now handheld testers (Using Motorola Coldfire and Mitsubishi 7700 CPUs) that are used to diagnose vehicle ECM faults using serial comms such as CAN and ISO.
    I support some of our best British motor vehicle manufactures we have in this country with engineering tools, and also do a lot of work with the Japs and German vehicle engine control manufactures.
    I also have done some work on the configuration systems (High speed ECM Flash programming) in the big car manufacturing sites around the world.

    Regards,

    Bluebear.
     

Share This Page

Loading...