Is there an "unlocked" PVR

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by fatbrunty, Aug 22, 2013.

Tags:
  1. fatbrunty

fatbrunty
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I'm a newbie here but have faffed about with digital video for years. I've got a Panasonic telly that records freeview & freesat to a usb disk, but only one at a time and it locks the tuner. Then if I want to copy off a program to watch on the train, I can't, the USB disk is encrypted and it even disables the analog video during playback.

I'm not complaining about the telly, the recordings are good, and I use a virgin TIVO most of the time, but I'm going to get rid of the cable TV so I thought I'd buy a proper PVR instead, rather that go media centre or mythbuntu.

Is there a PVR that will just let me copy the recordings off it, so I can reencode to play on whatever device I happen to be carrying? or do they all assume I'm pirating content?

Is there one for freeview and freesat combined?

Is there one that'll record to my readyNAS (virgin disable this in their tivo).

I don't mind tinkering or configuring or cabling or converting, in fact it's kind of my thing.

I've never bought a PVR box so I'd appreciate your comments, save me from buying some buttoned-down locked-in idiot-proof thing that I'll regret.

Ta.

2. petrev

petrev

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,015
    Humax HDR Fox T2 with the Custom FW added is about as unlocked and customisable as you will find with a FreeViewHD EPG in the box.

Some FTA Sat boxes can have T2 tuners added but getting the equivalent of FreeSat/FreeView EPGs on them seems like a chore (if it's possible ???)

Get it while you can - Seems to be about to be replaced . . .
    Pete

3. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,162