Is there a way to connect a microphone to a Kenwood series 21 hifi

Bionicman1

Novice Member
Reaction score
  1. I bought my missus a Kenwood series 21 Hifi when it first came out, so this is going back years. For her birthday she said she wants amicrophone for her birthday so she can sing along with her music.
    I went to Maplins for advise gave them the system details, I mentioned to them I've looked everywhere for a mic connection but could not find one, I'm not too technical with hifi's.
    I was advised to buy a mixer a Numark M101 so I could connect it through the amp so I could use the mic.
    I also bought a twin phono cable, prosound microphone, I followed the instructions to connect the kit, I disconnected the CD and record deck connected it to the rear of the mixer, the twin phone cable connected from the back of the mixer master connection.
    I've gone to connect the twin phone cable to the amp and realised there's no phono connection only a flat ribbed wire connection from the AV controller to the power amp.
    Does this mean there's no way of connecting a microphone to the hifi as it's too old, is there any other way I can connect a microphone, it's such a great system.
    In all it cost me £131.96 that's including£18.99 for extra 3 year warranty on the mixer, I never intended to spend so much as I was only after a mic. So the pampering weekend I had in mind has been put on hold.
    Any advise would be most appreciated £££ low.

I would say a very basic Microphone Pre-Amp that you could plug into the Kenwood ... assuming the Kenwood has a pair of extra RCA Phono inputs. There are some small Pre-Amps that have tone controls but there are also very low cost models that simply have volume controls.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/BEHRINGER-MX400-Channel-Micro-Mixer/dp/9790826311

This I believe uses 1/4" Phone Plugs. So it would work with most microphones.

But a full mixer is not that expensive -

Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer - £48 -