Is there a better way? Connecting PC to (crt) TV...

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Matt_C, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847
    Boggo basic PC, AGP graphics card (MX-440?) with VGA and s-vid outputs...

    CRT TV, RGB Scart, composite/s-vid scart, component YPrPb inputs.....

    Best way to connect PC to TV? I want it to show in proper 16:9, not just normal 4:3 desktop stretched to 16:9!!!!!

    Problem is, would rather not use the RGB Scart of the component inputs! Freeview has the RGB scart, and DVD has the component input. If one or other has to be relagated, then one or other will lose quality... And I can't even daisy chain the freeview box through the DVD as it doesn't have a scart input (neither does the Freeview box) :(

    Help me out here folks!
     
  2. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847
  3. Curly99

    Curly99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    seeing as the graphic card has s-vid output have you tried that?

    Curly
     
  4. dekoded

    dekoded
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +45
  5. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847
    That IS how I connect it - using the s-Vid. Which only shows it in 4:3 ratio, not 16:9 and also in very low resolution (800x600 - any bigger and the words on folders, files, media player etc are illegable)
     
  6. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847
    I had looked at those, but have been told that these only work with devices that can output YPrPb over their VGA connection, or with TV's that can accept YVA via their component inputs.... Seeing as how my TV's component inputs don't support prog scan, I doubt it would work :(
     
  7. wywywywy

    wywywywy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +68
    The absolutely best way, would be to build your own VGA-Scart cable for true 1:1 pixel mapping, and use a Scart switch box to switch between PC and Freeview. Will need an ATI card though. You will be amazed at the quality however.
     
  8. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847
    Will a vga-scart lead give me a high enough widescreen resolution tho? IE, will I get 1024x576 (I'm guessing 576 as CRT's have 576 horizontal lines right?)

    Can these be made to work on composite scart inputs? Cos I really don't wanna have yet ANOTHER box to switch, even a remote one which means another remote to use!!!
     
  9. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847

Share This Page

Loading...