Is the setup i am planning actually going to work?

themoffster

Standard Member
Hi. I am a complete rookie when it comes to setting up these kind of things, so i appreciate any advice about whether my plan is pie in the sky or a goer!

What i intend to have all connected together is as follows:
* LED TV
* XBox 360
* Sky+ box
* Apple TV
* Wireless surround sound system

What I hope I can achieve is to have all the above connected together and working outputting 5.1 Digital surround sound (obviously dependant on the tv show etc being in that format) through the surround sound system, but also able to play it through the tv speakers when i choose.

To do this i plan to connect the HDMI of the XBox 360 direct to the TV and use the optical digital audio cable to connect to the surround sound's base station.
I plan to do the same with both the Apple TV and the Sky box (HDMI direct to tv and optical digital audio cable to the surround sound base station).

The reason I plan to connect it all in this way is so i don't need to have the surround sound system on all the time (i.e. when i am watching certain things that aren't 5.1), hence the HDMIs heading straight to the tv and the audio out to the speaker system.

The known problem i have is that I can't find a surround sound system which has 3 optical digital audio ports, so I will have to use something like the following:
3Way Optical Digital Audio Switcher : AV Splitters Switchers : Maplin

The TV i plan to get is very similar to this (it will have at least 3 HDMI ports on it): Samsung UE37C6530 37-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

The surround sound system I plan to get is: Samsung HT-C555 5.1 ch - 1000W Home Theatre System Half: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics