1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is the scart Board that bad?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bluevortex, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +72
    have option of getting a dirt cheap second hand scart board for PW7 (£40).
    Have 2 spare slots on my screen and i am tempted to fill. Are they any good?

    blue :confused:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    blue they are OK for VCR etc (I would love one for £40 just paid £75 and £71 but need another ;) )
     
  3. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    they got any more for £40?
     
  4. Gussie

    Gussie
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +80
    When I had a SCART board - I found the RGB OK BUT the S-Video and Composite Video were appalling - lots of crawling diagonal lines on the screen.

    I believe there is a design fault on the SCART board that results in these lines appearing on S-Video and Composite.

    See http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=162669 for a post on this.

    Gussie :)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the dedicated video board is better, but for a few quid for odd use its OK. composite is never gonna look good on a plasma especailly from a VCR. but for Kids tapes its OK
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Scart boards are dead handy cos you always get a picture. I put them on thick client's bill and leave them with one even when they don't 'need' it, cos it saves so much time when they mess up their settings! You can see the menus real quick to put everything back in order.
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    but they are also probably fine for bunging a gamecube/ps2 on every now and then too.
     
  8. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +72
    mep, my thinkin exactly, i seem to be collecting a few of them joystick all in one jobs, you know the ones, old atari games and the more recent mega drive versions. i was thinkin it maybe useful for plug and play of these. Since joining this forum ive read quite a few negative posts on the scart board. perhaps because they retail at so much from new.

    thanks for comments, i have bought it. bargain.

    blue ;)
     
  9. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    result!...if you are switching games over a lot scart is the easiest option i reckon....may also be worth thinking about a quintro or similar as well if you do have a lot, probably give easier access too.
     
  10. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +72
    yeah i was intrested by the quintro and nearly went that route when buying the screen. perhaps an option for later. next purchase is a new remote. . roll on pay day

    blue
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    as you can buy a JS RGB>VGA for about the same price as a scart board...it is the must better option for Sky etc but for a handy socket scart is darn useful....
     
  12. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +72
    im looking forward to seeing how it compares. certainly handy for the plug and play option.
     
  13. Likvid

    Likvid
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes but it adds costs as you need one more highend cable for £50 by going thru the JS unit.

    With the SCART board you only need one highend SCART cable.

    So the JS solution is like £50 more approx.

     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  15. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    Belkin Pro vga leads are about £10 from ebuyer, and are really good.
     
  16. Likvid

    Likvid
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I have had three different VGA cables and they differ in quality between so it's no hype that a better lead is better.

    VGA cables are more sensitive to interference than any other cable so a expensive highend VGA cable is well worth the money.

    Just compare Bettercables VGA to some budget cable for £10 and you will see the difference.

    The JS Tech unit should have BNC connectors and not HD-15, BNC connectors are so much better in shielding the signal and doesn't leak as much.
     
  17. mdanforth

    mdanforth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Got to make a decision between a mark grant vga-vga and Better cables vga-vga?
    any ideas
     
  18. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    mark grant did my components and sub cables...they are top notch and he turns them round real quick (and tests them first)
     
  19. Supersonic72

    Supersonic72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got mine this morning, its yay-ok fr me....

    I'd recommend it
     
  20. mdanforth

    mdanforth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Steve, vga-vga? Got a Mark Grant component last week, fantastic.
     
  21. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Cant complain about the scart socket really. I watch freeview through mine and the picture quality is top notch.
     
  22. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    I want to join in here.... finally got round to getting a JS Tech Scart to VGA converter (from the classified forums £75 :smashin: ) and my initial impressions are :eek: much better than I was expecting... It is for my Pace Twin Freeview PVR which was going through scart, the colours seems much brighter and more vivid and the text on the TV guide is exceptionally sharp... need to test it a bit more tonight as the room is filled with sunshine at the mo :) . and probably re-claibrate with the DVE disc...

    HornyDragon amongst others told me to get one of these about 3 months ago, but did I listen? :nono:
     
  23. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    that's a real good price lisa!...was it a v2?
     
  24. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes they are noticeably better than a scart, but not so plug and play. VGA cable wise, I rather like the Lindy ones, tough for install, well shielded, gold connectors, they seem fine, even in quite long lengths.
     
  25. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Yes it is - I know, I was a bit cheeky, just lucky with timing - I have left the buyer good feedback though :cool:

    By the way - I am using a Profigold VGA cable, from Maplin, The one I have is way too long and cost about £30, the shorter lengths are obviously less, but it is very thick, good quality and has ferrite core things on.
     
  26. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Lisa, will the JS converter take more than one scart and switch between them?
    If so, I could get rid of my scart board...
     
  27. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    No, unfoprtunately not - you will have to get a separate scart switcher for that, I have heard people talk of the 'Quintro' think it is by JS Technology, but not too sure - the PQ is noticebly better though, would definitely recommend :thumbsup:
     
  28. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    bugger....cant really justify the expenditure at the moment - well more like the missus wont..but she would be happy with a B&W portable telly.
     
  29. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    JS scart switcher is the MSC 2 in one out about £50 the Quintro is £60-90 and 4(RGB)/5-1 so if you can get a JS cheap got for it (how are you currently connected?) if you are using one scart board then should be possible to use JS exactly the same as long as you are using RGB signals....
     
  30. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Damn you've now got my interest up! Was pondering on getting an RGB > YUV convertor earlier in the week to connect my Pace NTL Digbox --> Hitachi 42PD5200 but it seems as if RGB > VGA is a better option - do any of you good people know if the screen I have has the required input and if so whether it can accept a 15Khz input signal (at work at the moment so can't check).

    ALI
     

Share This Page

Loading...