1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is the Pioneer 575 fussy?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by hambo, Jun 7, 2005.

1. hambo

hambo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm new to all this AV lark and have found these forums a great source of useful advice - keep up the good work!

I thought I'd made my mind up that I was going to but the Pioneer 575 (£99 from RS & Multi-Region too!). However I did one last search on this forum and came across a thread where the poster was suggesting the 575 wasn't great with "non-retail" DVD's.

As my Dad has been going to Shanghai once a month for the last few months I have amassed quite a collection of DVD's that are, shall we say, likely to be produced to a lower quality standard than those you would buy at HMV in Oxford Street!

Are there any 575 owners out there who can put my mind at rest? Is the 575 going to start skipping all over the shop with DVD's written at faster speeds than UK retail discs? Would I be better off with another DVD player given that the vast majority of my DVD collection is non-retail and comes from China!?

Any comments/suggestions most welcome.

Hambo

2. giger

giger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    My brother just bought one from RS and it plays all of his +R and -R without any probs. Like you, he has quite a number and he tried about 10 as soon as he got the player home, not one hiccup so far...

3. hossacd

hossacd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have a 575 and it has never failed to play a disk. I have used some DVDs that have been burnt at 16x without a problem.