Is the Panasonic TZ7 the best "camcorder" Digital camera?

MrMister111

Hi

Im after a compact digi cam, with great HD camcorder functions, with optical zoom.

I am a total auto man, leave it on auto and take pics, the stills I think will be fine for me, so Im after a really good camcorder function

I have a Mini DV camcorder but I never take it with me, and its to big.

So my thought now is to replace my current digi cam (Casio Exilim Z600), and get something like the TZ7 for my HD video and stills.

Ive done quite a bit hunting and the TZ7 looks to be the best, it must have optical zooming as this to me means its not a proper camcorder replacement (when I say this all I do is casual family trips/holidays/parties etc I am not a professional)

As Ive seen a few like the Canon SX200, but it doesnt do optical zooming on video, the Samsung WB550 is another one maybe, but doesnt seem to be as good? and a bit fatter than TZ7

Please can anyone comment/suggest on a camcorder alternative for me, as I say Im a casual user, so no DSLR etc.

cheers

toadoftoadhall

I just bought the Pana LS80, purely for the video. Not sure if its exactly the same as the very expensive Z7, but it is very good.

One important thing though, it doesnt zoom while filming. Zoom then film, stop, zoom and film. So doesnt really do the job of a real camcorder.

toad.

dave_bass5

Distinguished Member

Thats a good test. Who did it ;)

There are a few more videos from my TZ7 on Vimeo as well. It think for what the OP wants its a good choice.
Not sure its "the best" but probably close to the best all rounder.
Good video, good zoom range and easy to use seems to say TZ7.

I find indoor filming to be very good and whielst not as good as my HF10 it gets the job done. Audio is good as well.