Is the original DJI Mavic Mini worth getting

Floyd AVF

Amazon currently have the original DJI Mavic Mini fly more bundle for £359
As a complete novice looking for a first half decent drone to get started with, is this a viable option or is it worth going for the newer model?
I'm not fussed about the lower grade camera and from what I can tell the operating range of the Mini 1 is a lot less than the Mini 2, but I doubt that would be too much of an issue (the further away it is then the more chance of it getting lost I'm guessing!).
Any users of the original Mavic Mini on here?

paulyoung666

Distinguished Member
The mini is perfectly acceptable as long as you accept it’s limitations , as you know , it is limited in distance for signal but that’s not necessarily a bad thing as you are technically only allowed to do VLOS flights anyway , battery life is excellent , the wind handling isn’t brilliant , but again , if you accept that fact and don’t push it you’ll be fine.
There is nothing wrong with the camera.
Your biggest issue is likely to be getting hooked good and proper , in that case I would suggest getting the mini 2 .....

Floyd AVF

The mini is perfectly acceptable as long as you accept it’s limitations , as you know , it is limited in distance for signal but that’s not necessarily a bad thing as you are technically only allowed to do VLOS flights anyway , battery life is excellent , the wind handling isn’t brilliant , but again , if you accept that fact and don’t push it you’ll be fine.
There is nothing wrong with the camera.
Your biggest issue is likely to be getting hooked good and proper , in that case I would suggest getting the mini 2 .....
So besides the price (of which this seems to be a decent deal) what are the real benefits of the 2 over the 1 (besides camera and extra distance)?

paulyoung666

Distinguished Member