Is the Ifi Itube 2 buffer/preamp available anywhere?

I'll just add that I have difficulties understanding why the Ifi device works. After all, it seems to have a pot. In Zero Fidelity (Sean's) review of it, he said it acts as a "line stage preamp". Maybe that has something to do with it?

Yes, if you're happy with the 6000A as a preamp, then the Saga+ is probably not the way to go, as you would be feeding your music through two volume controls which wouldn't really be recommended.

That takes you back to the iFi (if you can find one), or either of the X-10D or the Yaqin.
The thing the Ifi has going for it is its versatility -- it offers a number of options such as different tube topologies, 3D and so on. With the other two, one doesn't get to play around much and fine-tune things to one's taste.

I think I may have served to confuse matters here, with my basic attempts at explaining electronics. Please note, I am not an electrical engineer by any stretch of the imagination, I am just trying to regurgitate things I have read. I should have caveated with that earlier.

I thought I had read somewhere that a tube buffer increases the current, but I may be wrong. I know that voltage and current are related, so perhaps that doesn't make sense if the voltage remains the same in a buffer.

Gain is normally referred to in voltage terms (or in dB), rather than current.

If you want to do some more reading up about how a buffer works, then the technical term for one is a 'cathode follower circuit'. Note, you can also get non tube-based cathode followers/buffers too.

Putting it back into layman's terms again though, if the unit has a volume control on it, then it's not just a pure unity gain buffer and I would go back to the point that sending a signal through more than one volume control is probably counter-intuitive.