Is the DENON 3910 HDMI Multi-Channel or Stereo?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by scarty16, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +93
    Does anyone know whether the
    DENON 3910 HDMI Multi-Channel or Stereo?

    I am aware of the following,
    The Arcam DV79 is HDMI with Stereo only
    The Arcam FMJ 29 is HDMI for multi-channel

    As this will affect my purchase.

    Second question is there a receiver/processor that can accept HDMI multi-channel available yet?

    Thanks

    Simon
     
  2. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's multichannel - as explained here
     
  3. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +93
    Cheers
     
  4. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143

    :confused:
     
  5. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think it's multichannel but won't pass uncompressed audio such as DVD-Audio and SACD. Only HDMI 2 will do this. Am I right?
     
  6. christoph

    christoph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liechtenstein
    Ratings:
    +3
    is there an expected release date for hdmi2?
     
  7. NC11

    NC11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think HDMI is presently used for video only , not audio... :confused:
     
  8. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Simon,

    The new monster £4000+ Denon AVCA1X has 3 HDMI inputs and is available at the end of the year.

    http://www.avland.co.uk/denon/avca1xv/avca1xv.htm

    Steve
     
  9. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +93
    Can somebody explain the difference between the differnt HDMI's then.

    As I thought HDMI 1 was video and stereo and HDMI 2 was video and multi-channel.
     
  10. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +93
    Does this mean that only DTS and DD and Stereo will be sent down the HDMI and not the SACD and DVDA?
     
  11. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    I may be wrong but I thought HDMI 1 was video & stereo , HDMI 2 was video & multichannel. It was also my belief that HDMI 2 could pass DVD-A as well as DD & DTS but not sure about SACD
     
  12. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    As stated in the Arcam DV29 data sheet that can be read Here the DV29 is the first DVD player to use HDMI 2

    AFAIK there are currently no receivers or processors that have the full HDMI 2 inputs.

    Mark.
     
  13. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think SACD hasn't been licensed for HDMI 2, yet…
     
  14. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    There is no such thing as HDMI 2. The current version of the HDMI spec is 1.1 and can be viewed at www.hdmi.org

    HDMI was specced to support multichannel hi resolution PCM audio from the outset; however the first chipsets such as the SiI9190 only supported regular 2 channel PCM plus DD and DTS streams. The newest transmitter chip SiI9030 supports hi-res multichannel PCM too (i.e. DVD-Audio) and is used in the DV29.

    Whilst it is in principle easily possible to put an SACD signal down the pipe as PCM there are no signs that that will be licensed in that way or at all. This is in the hands of Sony and Philips.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  15. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +93
    Thanks John, I think that ends the debate
     

Share This Page

Loading...