1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is the AVC A1SE upgrade still available?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Kane D Williams, Nov 24, 2002.

  1. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi folks

    It's been a long time since I visited this site (been spending loads of money one new PC for music).

    Do you know if Denon are still upgrading A1SE? Is it still the same price?

    Cheers
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    Best bet is to give Denon a call. There were more upgrade boards coming in this month but they were already allocated as far as I´m aware. Price should be the same if you have any luck getting the upgrade done.

    Here´s Hayden Labs phone number 01753 888447.
     
  3. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Are they upgrading Denon Link to Second Edition at same time, or is this only possible with AVC-A1SR ?
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    As far as I know, the already upgraded A1SE cannot be updated with the Denon Link Second Edition as it doesn´t have the necessary memory available.
     
  5. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks again Jase.
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    gringottsdirect

    Have a look at THIS

    Seems that there might be an upgrade to the Denon Link SE for the already upgraded A1SE if the Denon engineers can squeeze it into the limited memory.

    Don´t think I´ll bother sending mine back again!:rolleyes:
     
  7. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    That is interesting, particularly the comment about possibly requiring an upgrade to Denon Link S.E. for SACD playback.
    I fancy the idea of DVD-A / SACD connected by digital. ( J.D. and Edgeyboy's concerns noted ).

    I see Denon now have SACD players in Japan so maybe a Denon solution is sooner than later.
    I was considering buying an upgraded AVC-A1SE.
    After much testing of separates I have more or less settled on AVC-A1SR, I need to confirm it won't be updated straight after I unpack mine at home.
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    For me the Denon Link is a mute point as I don´t have a Denon dvd player. I can understand your concerns though.

    In theory it should possible to update the Denon A1 dvd with SACD playback via a firmware update. The chip it uses (ESS Vibrato) had SACD capabilites added to it earlier this year. I don´t know if there are any other technical reasons why it can´t be added though.:confused:
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Hayden labs are doing a standby list for people who have missed out, they don't have any boards coming in but I guess they are gauging demand before making a decision. So if you are interested, get your name on the list!.

    Hayden labs 01753 888447.

    Jeff
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    my name has been on their list for about 6 weeks now, and was told that i had the second from last out of 6 coming in at the end of november.
    not heard anything from them so i hope they have still got me down for one, i'll be really ****ed if they havent. better give them a call monday.
     
  11. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    I been on the list since from August they said that boards were coming in november but still waiting so don't hold your breath ..:confused:

    boogie man
     

Share This Page

Loading...