Is sound formats s/ware or h/ware?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Harj, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. Harj

    Harj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +34
    This may be a stupid question, but im drunk and i need to know.


    How are different sound formats converted? i.e dd 5.1 and dts and thx. Is it a hardware conversion or a software conversin? If s/w is it possible to upgrade amps?

    Am I going to be roasted for asking this?
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Wait until a few people have replied and then go back and amend your question to something completely different.
     
  3. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,487
    You need the hardware decoders/processors to decode the formats but they are programmed with software!!

    In some cases you can reprogram the chips for a newer format but only if the chips have the available processing power.

    Onkyo upgraded one of their amps to PL2 with a software upgrade. Newer formats like DTS 24/96 need faster/better processors hence a hardware upgrade (Denon A1SE upgrade).

    If you´ve got a hangover maybe you should have drunk a pint of water before you went to bed:D
     
  4. Harj

    Harj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +34
    Not a bad queston for a drunk hey? I was wondering as pc are easily upgradable, so rather than fork ot for a new pc, u just upgrade. Likewise if the only thing missing on my amp is THX, why would i need to buy one just for the sake of it while my urrent amp pleases me no end?
     
  5. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Apart from some high end amps they are not upgradeable as it is not in the manufacturers interests to make them so.
     
  6. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    THX is not a surround sound format but rather a quality standard.
    I don't think THX would allow a SW upgrade as the HW has to follow very strict standards, too.

    And I guess no, why make a product upgradable if they can sell you a new one? ;)
    Actual point being is rather the limitation of the HW, e.g. DACs or processing power.

    Check out the upgrade for the Denon AVC-A1SE, initally supposed to be a SW only upgrade but now comes with a new PCB, costing a whooping GBP600. Else it wasn't possible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice