1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is sound formats s/ware or h/ware?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Harj, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. Harj

    Harj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +34
    This may be a stupid question, but im drunk and i need to know.


    How are different sound formats converted? i.e dd 5.1 and dts and thx. Is it a hardware conversion or a software conversin? If s/w is it possible to upgrade amps?

    Am I going to be roasted for asking this?
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    Wait until a few people have replied and then go back and amend your question to something completely different.
     
  3. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,733
    You need the hardware decoders/processors to decode the formats but they are programmed with software!!

    In some cases you can reprogram the chips for a newer format but only if the chips have the available processing power.

    Onkyo upgraded one of their amps to PL2 with a software upgrade. Newer formats like DTS 24/96 need faster/better processors hence a hardware upgrade (Denon A1SE upgrade).

    If you´ve got a hangover maybe you should have drunk a pint of water before you went to bed:D
     
  4. Harj

    Harj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +34
    Not a bad queston for a drunk hey? I was wondering as pc are easily upgradable, so rather than fork ot for a new pc, u just upgrade. Likewise if the only thing missing on my amp is THX, why would i need to buy one just for the sake of it while my urrent amp pleases me no end?
     
  5. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    Apart from some high end amps they are not upgradeable as it is not in the manufacturers interests to make them so.
     
  6. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    THX is not a surround sound format but rather a quality standard.
    I don't think THX would allow a SW upgrade as the HW has to follow very strict standards, too.

    And I guess no, why make a product upgradable if they can sell you a new one? ;)
    Actual point being is rather the limitation of the HW, e.g. DACs or processing power.

    Check out the upgrade for the Denon AVC-A1SE, initally supposed to be a SW only upgrade but now comes with a new PCB, costing a whooping GBP600. Else it wasn't possible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...