Is SONY the only manufacturer to ....

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by NickHK168, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. NickHK168

    NickHK168
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ... adds Progressive Scan selectable via hardware/button on the machines?

    I had to replace my old Pioneer 575 because, I found that having to go thru menus as the only way to switch back and forth from Prog to Interlace was a real nuisance.

    Sometimes, if the night before I forgot to switch back to Interlace after watching a video on my Proj (connected via Component), the following day my 6 y/o son at home could not watch DVDs because the picture would not show on the TV set (connected to the 575 via S-Video).

    After a long search I could find that, where I live (Hong Kong), SONY seems to be the only brand that offers such feature, that is, Prog Scan/Interlace selecteable via button on the DVD front panel. Is that the same elsewhere?

    I wonder what would happen to someone who happens to have only a TV connected via Composite/S-Video if he/she accidentally switched to progressive.

    How is it possible to switch back to interlace thru menus in a situation like that???

    Is it me or many manufacturers just do not think when they design their machines?

    :eek:
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +214
    The pioneer 757ai UK model has a button on the front to select progressive scan. I think the 868avi also has one as well.
     
  3. Mec

    Mec
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +19
    There is also one on the front of my Samsung Dvd Recorder as well
     
  4. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +293
    I have the NAD T562 at home and pretty certain the button is in the centre of the remote.
     
  5. NickHK168

    NickHK168
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you fr yr input.
    I actually have a Panasonic E85H DVD Recorder that does not even need to be switched between the two modes. In fact, it can output Iterlaced thru S-Video/Composite and Progressive Scan thru Component at the same time.
    But, other shortcomings (such as the fact that I have to swicth the timer off if the TV signal is set to PAL and I want to watch a NTSC DVD Video and viceversa) forced me to buy a standalone player for the specific purpose of watching DVDs.
    Anyway, the thread is about DVD Players! Please let's stick with players only! :)
     
  6. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Not sure about the Denon 1910 but the 2910 and 3910 allow different switching on the front panel.
    It might be that the s-video can be one and composite/DVI/HDMI another.
    They also play PAL/NTSC
     

Share This Page

Loading...