Is SONY the only manufacturer to ....

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by NickHK168, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. NickHK168

    NickHK168
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ... adds Progressive Scan selectable via hardware/button on the machines?

    I had to replace my old Pioneer 575 because, I found that having to go thru menus as the only way to switch back and forth from Prog to Interlace was a real nuisance.

    Sometimes, if the night before I forgot to switch back to Interlace after watching a video on my Proj (connected via Component), the following day my 6 y/o son at home could not watch DVDs because the picture would not show on the TV set (connected to the 575 via S-Video).

    After a long search I could find that, where I live (Hong Kong), SONY seems to be the only brand that offers such feature, that is, Prog Scan/Interlace selecteable via button on the DVD front panel. Is that the same elsewhere?

    I wonder what would happen to someone who happens to have only a TV connected via Composite/S-Video if he/she accidentally switched to progressive.

    How is it possible to switch back to interlace thru menus in a situation like that???

    Is it me or many manufacturers just do not think when they design their machines?

    :eek:
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,879
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +280
    The pioneer 757ai UK model has a button on the front to select progressive scan. I think the 868avi also has one as well.
     
  3. Mec

    Mec
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +19
    There is also one on the front of my Samsung Dvd Recorder as well
     
  4. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +298
    I have the NAD T562 at home and pretty certain the button is in the centre of the remote.
     
  5. NickHK168

    NickHK168
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you fr yr input.
    I actually have a Panasonic E85H DVD Recorder that does not even need to be switched between the two modes. In fact, it can output Iterlaced thru S-Video/Composite and Progressive Scan thru Component at the same time.
    But, other shortcomings (such as the fact that I have to swicth the timer off if the TV signal is set to PAL and I want to watch a NTSC DVD Video and viceversa) forced me to buy a standalone player for the specific purpose of watching DVDs.
    Anyway, the thread is about DVD Players! Please let's stick with players only! :)
     
  6. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Not sure about the Denon 1910 but the 2910 and 3910 allow different switching on the front panel.
    It might be that the s-video can be one and composite/DVI/HDMI another.
    They also play PAL/NTSC
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice