Is Someone Uploading From My PC ?

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by J80FAB, Sep 15, 2007.

1. J80FAB

J80FAB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +70
    Erm.... yes well I'm no expert at these things but I'm getting slightly annoyed as my PC has recently started to upload at times for no apparent reason.

Is it possible that someone has 'hacked' into the PC & is uploading stuff from it :confused:

When uploading starts I reset the PPP connection with my ISP which usually makes it stop until it starts again.

I did recently update the 4oD (4 on demand) software & the uploading if I'm not mistaken seems to have started after that. Or it just might be a coincidence.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

EDIT:

Sorry forgot to mention I'm running Win XP Home Edition.

2. Rattty

Rattty

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Install a firewall like Zone Alarm, this will show all network traffic and you can then stop any 'odd' activity.

3. Singh400

Singh400
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    How do you know someone is uploading from your PC? What (if any) tools/software are you using?

4. Member 79251

Member 79251
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    I would just look at my router lights ;)

5. J80FAB

J80FAB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +70

Well in answer to the above my router is next to my monitor so I can see the lights flashing :D, I have NetMeter installed which shows upstream activity when there shouldn't be any & of course my LAN icon at the botton right will show continuous activity with its flashing screens, that's how I know !

6. Decadent Fool

Decadent Fool

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33
    As previously mentioned, install ZoneAlarm and it will tell you the desired destination of anything trying to access the net