1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Sky+ pre-recordings / no signal

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by raigraphixs, Oct 10, 2003.

  1. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    49,861
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +15,240
    Hi,

    I read some things that when sky+ first came out, that Sky+ was locked out from watching any thing you have recorded if your box had no siginal, like in really bad weather, heavy rainfall.

    Is this still the case?, what is sky's stance on this if it still is. Surely, if we pay out £200 for a box, customers have 100% right to watch programmes they pay for at any time. This fix can easily be done via the software by sky?.

    Hopefully this has been sorted?.


    regards

    rai
     
  2. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not sure if that's true, but I've heard that you can only watch something that you recorded for as long as you subscribe to that channel.
     
  3. danny-p

    danny-p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try taking out your viewing card then playing back what youve recorded.
     
  4. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    This is still the case and will remain the case.

    The way that Sky+ works is that it directly records the encrypted signal that comes down the wire from the satellite dish. So essentially it acts as a time-shifting device: it allows you to exactly simulate what would be happening if the program you are watching were being broadcast live at that moment. You just choose the moment. As far as the actual decoder and video/audio generator is concerned, it is simply an ordinary Sky Digibox being fed a digital stream - it doesn't know or care whether the signal is live or recorded.

    What that means is that exactly the same conditions will always apply to watching a recording as would apply to watching the program live. For example:
    • You can't watch a program if you don't have a subscription to the channel it is broadcast on.
    • If it's a per-per-view program, you pay for it at the point that you watch it, and can't watch it if you don't pay.
    • You can't watch a program unless the box is able to verify at that moment that your subscription to a channel is active.
    The way that any Sky digibox determines whether you have a valid subscription or not is by checking a combination of incoming satellite data and your viewing card. If the signal is lost then the box cannot verify whether or not you have a valid subscription, and thus will not let you watch the program.
     
  5. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    49,861
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +15,240
    Hi,

    Thanks, surely sky can make it check for a vaild card?. instead of signal as well, they are taking libeties, by no allowing anyone to watch recorded prgrammes.

    When it rains here it rains for a few days or during snow falls in winter, when there is so much cloud cover, so not being able to catch up on recording is damn silly.


    ta

    rai
     
  6. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you saying that your SKY is sometimes without a signal for days at a time?
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    I hope he isn't, granted weather can be bad in northern Scotland but surely you would make your dish accessible (snow buildup etc) if that was a long term issue.
    In most parts of the UK a normal Zone1 (45cm) dish with a clear line of sight and installed correctly should perform well in all but the worst torrential downpour or very heavy snow build up.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    The reason is based on how Videoguard works.
    It relies on receiving a continous authorisation signal via the satellite to validate the smartcard, when the card is required to provide the codes to decode a program it checks it's status and must have a live satellite feed to do so. Now with a normal SKY digibox this is not an issue since without a satellite feed you can not watch anything in the first place:)
    With SKY+ the unit caches the data onto the hard drive without running it through the decoder so all it's encryption is intact (That is why you can record a movie without having a movie subscription), only on playback does it require a valid channel subscription so only on playback does it need to check the card and therefore look for a live satellite feed.

    Simply put if you are regularly without a signal then there is something wrong with your installation and it should be looked at by a qualified installer.
     
  9. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    49,861
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +15,240
    Hi,

    No, I get a perfect picture, but when there is heavy rain, signal does go, and usually it rains for a few hours for a few days. But, I wanted to get my head around the reason why recordings would not play, you have explained it well.

    I was just annoyed if for a few hours it rained hard, and there was no signal, my/all skyplus boxes in really bad weather would make them un-useable for anything. Oh well.

    ta

    rai
     

Share This Page

Loading...