is s-video cable directional

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by jtt1888, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    just hooked up a plasma from freeview with a scart to s video adaptor. Im getting a picture but its black and white. I,ve just noticed that there is an arrow on the cable and its the wrong way. its a hassle to change it but i will if this could be the problem.
    is the s video directional?
     
  2. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126
    I think the answer is in the question?
     
  3. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    I take it that its a definate yes then.
     
  4. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    No. There are often directional arrows on cables, but I have found that the direction they are plugged makes no difference whatever to picture or sound quality. After all how does a cable know which way it's supposed to transmit a signal. Having said that I still do plug them in following the directional arrows:rolleyes:
     
  5. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    i cant think what else would cause a black and white picture. Its a terminal board i just bought from ebay but i was assured it was never used. To change the direction of the cable it means pulling it through walls but if its got to be done then so be it.
     
  6. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,188
    My guess is that the arrow is there not because of the Svideo connector but because of the scart.

    As in that it does not have all of the pins needed for TV in, and only TV out (or vice versa).

    Does the Scart lead have all of the 21 pins?
     
  7. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    it has 20 pins and an in/out switch option. I have it set at out to the plasma. The convertor and s video cable are cheap and cheerful.
    I've also checked the plasma and freeview box settings and these appear to be ok.
     
  8. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    The fact that you may have either the source or the display switched to composite, and the other to s-video. Or even both to composite...

    Scart carries the composite signal on the same pin as the luminence signal of s-video. S-video is made up of 2 wires, luminence (brightness level ) and chrominance (colour).

    Hence if you just see b&w, the likely cause is that you are just displaying the luminence part of the signal.

    This could be because you are sending a composite signal - so it is only on the one wire. Or because your display is switched to composite input, so is only picking up the luminence part of the signal.

    Remember, just because scart is capable of carrying a s-video signal, it doesn't guarantee the devide with scart understands s-video...

    I wager a bet that is the problem.
     
  9. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    I think you may be correct ,so sorry, no bets. Does this mean i have to invest in a freeview box with direct s video out rather than trying to convert it from scart.
     
  10. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ive just read the freeview manual and it says it can output iether RGB or CVBS. Can anyone advise what CVBS is.
     
  11. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    Composite video.

    Hence why your s-video input on the display only sees the b&w signal.

    Why can't you use RGB? That would be best. Doesn't your display have a scart input with RGB?
     
  12. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the help guys, appreciated.
    The display doesnt have a scart input. Its a second tv in a bedroom (Panasonic PW7). I could buy a scart terminal board but it would be difficult to run a scart cable through the loft space and down through the wall because of the connector size, (expensive aswell). I was hoping to keep the installation costs down because most of the time the terminal board will be switched to component in from the HD box in the living room.
    so presuming its impossible to get s-video from the freeview box, is it possible to get a scart to composite video convertor. This would be easier to route through the house. THe dual input terminal board has a spare video input. I know the picture quality will not be great.
     
  13. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    you should be able to pick up cheap scart to composite leads just about anywhere. Or you can buy little scart to composite adaptors. Cheap as chips.
     
  14. jtt1888

    jtt1888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Loz
    Sounds like im sorted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...