1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is run-in needed for LCDs?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by gareth78, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. gareth78

    gareth78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

    Ok so my new LCD should arrive soon and i was wondering is there any need for a run-in period and should any precautions be taken during the first X number of hours?

    Cheers.
     
  2. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Nope! Just sit back and enjoy.
     
  3. gareth78

    gareth78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +1
    cool, thanks for your quick response although the waiting for the TV is beginning to kill me.
     
  4. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Although no running-in is involved you may actually see an improvement in picture quality as the screen beds in.
     
  5. ThePimpmaster

    ThePimpmaster
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run in is needed, the image will improve after a few hours of use :)
    And a TV has some speakers as well, and they need run in. ;)
     
  6. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    I'm sure the OP was referring to running in as they do for plasma screens whereby you run the TV at low settings for 200 hrs or more in order to prevent screen burn etc. No such precautions are need with LCD.
     
  7. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    That's what I assumed. Although the other posters are quite right, my uneven backlighting eventually disappeared after a few days.
     
  8. ThePimpmaster

    ThePimpmaster
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My image improved greatly after a few days of use. I don't have a clue why though. Anyone who can clear things up?
     
  9. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Asides from my white patches disappearing, I don't think I remember my image quality improving. Are you sure it's not a psychological thing - getting used to any faults that a TV will inevitably have?
     
  10. pknarb

    pknarb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Maybe it takes a few days to get all the settings right and that explains the improvement.
     
  11. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same feeling, might be the settings and getting used to the image, but i thought the image got a bit less grainy and colour banding was less...but it might have been total imagination!
     
  12. ThePimpmaster

    ThePimpmaster
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is probably right, at first you tend to use presets, laters on you start using different settings for different sources. :)
     
  13. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    my tosh 27wl56 'motion blurs' a little bit when i first switch it on with xbox but soon settles down after a few minutes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...