1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is RCE encoding for real?

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Vipen, Aug 2, 2002.

  1. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    wanted to buy some region 1 dvds of play.com but they state that RCE encoding on certain discs will mean they may not play. and that they don't offer a returns policy.

    does anyone know if it's worth botheing ordering these products or what dvd players (r.2) require to play them, if they can at all.

    btw, i think it's called RCE, can't remember now.
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +933
    Hi

    Some of the discs that Play state as being RCE encoded, actually are´nt. I assume you already have a multiregion player if you are looking at buying R1 Discs? What player is it?

    Most multiregion players can play RCE discs either stra¡ght off or via the disc swap trick or even a handset hack.
     
  3. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    it's a toshiba sd220 multi region.
     
  4. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not nessecerily what machine, but when it was chipped.

    I've a multi region machine, but it predates the RCE fiasco. It wont therefore play RCE disks.

    Any machine that has a handset hack for multi region should work.

    The way RCE works is ...

    A region 1 disk asks the player can you play region 1 and the player responds yes. happy bunny.

    An RCE disk asks the same question, gets a yes, but then says "ahhh but can you play region 2?" A multi region play of course will say "absolutely gov'ner". so the RCE disks retorts "well you can stuff off then I'm not playing"

    A hand job (oo er) via the remote would reply negative to the second question and thus be a happy bunny again.
     
  5. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think two or three studios decided to start using RCE on their R1 discs but very few discs are now (or have ever been) released with RCE encoding, Play seem to take the safe option and label all their R1 disks from those studios as being RCE, when in fact very few will be.

    But as Jase says many Multi-region players will play RCE stuff with little or no trouble.
     
  6. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    it's a brand new one straight out of the box. hmm, not sure what way to turn. those damn companies and their tactics!!!!
     
  7. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if its brand new its highly likely to be RCE happy.

    just buy a known RCE disk - hollow man, final fantasy and see if it plays. you can always sell it on ebay (or here)
     
  8. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    from a hifi/audio - visual specialist or a high street chain-type shop?
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,642
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,489
    What make and model is it, we may be able to help you with an hack.
     
  10. John-D

    John-D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Sony DVD players multi-region chip predates the RCE DVD's, but RCE disc's play fine.

    God bless Techtronics. :D

    JD
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +933
    The Toshiba may well play the RCE disc straight away. If not, then the disc swap trick should work (works on my Toshiba 210). Just place a non RCE R1 disc in the player, let it start, then stop & eject it and put in the RCE disc.
     
  12. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    An RCE disk asks the player what region it is.

    If the player says "I'm Region 1" then the disk will play.

    If the player replies with anything else (including R0), then it won't play.

    Thus, multiregion players must be already set to Region 1 before the disk checks which region it is.

    http://www.michaeldvd.com.au/Articles/RegionalCodeEnhancement/RCE.asp
     

Share This Page

Loading...