1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is progressive scan worth it on LCDs?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by McGraw, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. McGraw

    McGraw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have just been in a specialist audio/video shop. The salesperson had the Nemo DVD running through a 50" Pioneer plasma tv.

    I mentioned that I was going to run an Xbox through component progressive scan through a soon to be purchased 32" LCD.

    He said that these types of TVs (LCD/Plasma) are inherently progressive scan and proceeded to turn progressive scan on and off at the source. I noticed no loss of picture quality whatsoever. He also said that there is even less difference with Xboxes and that some TVs and projectors actually end up with a better picture if you feed them interlaced signals and allow them to do the processing themselves.

    This is important to me as I'm getting a 32" LCD WEGA and I have a UK PAL Xbox that will need modifying to output in high definition.

    According to this salesperson I may as well just run the UK component kit and the TV will do the rest without any noticeable lack of quality.

    Can I have your opinions on this please.

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    I hope not, i've just bought a LCD today for hidef on my XBOX, i'll be disappointed if 1080i doesn't look better than my old TV :-(
     
  3. McGraw

    McGraw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    What I mean is, will I see much difference on LCD from actually running the Xbox in progressive scan mode compared to through the component in in non progressive scan mode.

    The salesperson seemed to suggest that the screen would make it progressive scan on it's own.
     
  4. gavan

    gavan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +286

    Things like Plasma, LCD and non-crt projectors are indeed all inherently prog-scan and contain their own converters to allow them to display interlaced sources.

    For DVDs and suchlike it may be that the player has a better deinterlacer than the display device so there would still be some value in using prog scan. OTOH the display device might be better ... a bit like using an onboard audio DAC on an amp vs the players own DAC. It's on a player by player basis.

    I'm not too sure about something like an XBox which can produce _native_ prog scan output (with a modchip). In this case the signal would never be interlaced in the first place (apart from video clips maybe) so I would imagine that there would be something to be gained .... but maybe only a small improvement.

    In short, why not try it unmodified first (when you get the screen)? If you feel something is lacking then maybe thinking about chipping to get prog scan to see if that improves things for you? No sense in paying the money to find afterwards that you didn't really need to go to the hassle of chipping.


    Gav
     
  5. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    I might be wrong, but I think progressive from a DVD player and progressive from an XBOX are different. As the image is still stored interlaced on a DVD the player or tv will perform de-interlacing but the xbox can output a true progressive image.

    Everybody who has gone hidef progressive on the xbox says how much better the picture is, and as soon as can get hold of the official hidef pack (anybody wanna help me get one?) I will let you know if it's better.
     
  6. McGraw

    McGraw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Please do, that would be great. I'd rather not chip my Xbox if possible.
     
  7. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    You can set a PAL xbox to NTSC without chipping and invalidating warranties etc.
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    a chipped xbox will output higher reses like 720p, standard PAL xbox will be 480p after the display has deinterlaced it.
     
  9. McGraw

    McGraw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    So if the only games I play are 480p, there is no point chipping?

    Do you have to use the save game hack to output NTSC with chipping?

    If so, can it go wrong?
     
  10. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    Probably ;-) , but not as bad as sticking a red hot iron on your xbox circuits boards!!!

    Seriously though, if you just use the save game hack to run the enigmah video selector then it's almost fool proof. People normally have problems when they start upgrading hard drives or installing the audio/font hack.
     
  11. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124

    Just got the High Def pack today. That salesman is soooo wrong :)

    As soon as plugged in the component leads I noticed that the picture was brighter, more colourful and slightly sharper.

    I then enabled 480p mode and this is when you realise that normal RGB is a blurry dull mess. I'm watching burnout 2 now and the picture quality now is outstanding

    You asked if it was worth doing for 480p only. Definitely!!! Buy one ASAP :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...