Is Pioneer customer service wrong? Too much receiver for my speakers?

DustinD

Novice Member
Newbie here. My brand new receiver that I scrimped and saved for is now in safe mode,and won’t turn on, and I am super frustrated. It was shutting down over and over while I was trouble shooting, and I guess I did it one too many times, hence the safe mode. Can someone tell me what is happening? Cause I don’t buy Pioneer customer service’s explanation. (below) Here is my set up:

The story: Before it shut off permanently and went into safe mode, I was testing a movie. The receiver would handle everything fine during parts of dialogue only, but as soon as a louder scene started, it would shut off. I then tried to plug in only one speaker at a time, with the same effect. Every single speaker (plugged in one at a time) would cause the receiver to shut off when the movie got to an action scene.

I called Pioneer, and the guy said I have too much receiver for my speakers, especially my rear two speakers. This is the entry level 5.1 receiver Pioneer makes. I can’t go any less powerful and still get 5.1. And if that’s the case, why did the receiver shut off when I was pushing my bookshelf speakers, (one at a time) as they should be able to handle the wattage?

I am going to box up the receiver and ship it back, but I need to know if what Pioneer is saying is true. Do I need to get new rear speakers that can handle more wattage? What do I do? Please help.

Jase

Distinguished Member
Assuming it was wired correctly and there were no stray speaker cable wires causing a short then I'd say those speakers are fine. I'd suspect a fault within the VSX-532.

citywalker

Usually receiver shuts off, when receiver can't power the speakers in desired level - receiver is weak and overheating.
Solution is to buy better receiver or more sensitive speakers.
Receiver and speakers wattage is more or less meaningless, don't look these numbers.