1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is my panny plasma faulty?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by zAndy1, Sep 22, 2004.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    Hi folks,
    Anyone out there with a series 6 panny plasma care to check out 'The Two Towers' and tell me whether theirs looks the same as mine. Check out these pics , would like to hear if anyone else's looks like this as I'm amazed how bad it looks sometimes. This is from an RP82, same results via S-Video or SDI through Crystalio. Also same results using my philips dvd recorder. I have the HD panny i.e. TH42PHD6 but anyone with the SD model I'd love to hear what yours looks like as I'm sure mine shouldn't be any worse than an SD display!

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v136/zAndy1/DSCN0748.jpg (yuck!)
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v136/zAndy1/DSCN0746.jpg (yuck again!)
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v136/zAndy1/DSCN0735.jpg (horrible 256 colour like banding where the cavern and water meet here)
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v136/zAndy1/DSCN0745.jpg (greenish tint to the fog in this picture, looks fine via Svideo)

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  2. Norvegia

    Norvegia
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    Search for posterization; that's what happening on your plasma, but I don't think I would expect that huge posterization from a Panny.

    But I don't own one and I'm not sure if it is normal in that model.

    Regards.
     
  3. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    What refresh rate are you using Andy..? Assuming it's 50Hz, does it look the same at 60Hz..?
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    Using 60hz when using the Crystalio into the PC input. Assume when using the panny svideo input it's whatever the format is so in this case 50hz as it's PAL.

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  5. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    What about s-video directly from DVD player to the plasma..?
     
  6. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    That's what I meant, s-video is directly from the dvd player to the plasma, assume at 50hz. Same story with that connection...

    Andy.
     
  7. Orlando

    Orlando
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +5
    I also notice you have a dead pixel, oops sorry!
     
  8. ihan

    ihan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi,

    My SD PW6 is exactly the same. There's no need for me to check it with that particular disc, I've seen the effect with other discs. Many people refer to it as colour banding. I've been told the HD panels don't suffer as badly as that, but now I'm beginning to wonder. Thanks for posting the pictures, I think you may have prevented an unnecessary upgrade to a HD panel! Oddly enough, you don't see any effects with some material. You can even make the position of the bands change by altering the contrast/brightness!

    Is that red spot just one defective pixel or a cluster of them - depending on the number, you may be able to swap it out under warranty conditions. Where did you buy it from?

    Regards,
    ihan
     
  9. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    my viera doesnt look like that at all and i thought that the set was based around a pw6 talk to maw or joe im sure they will have a answer
     
  10. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    The dead pixel is on my camera thank god!

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  11. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    Can anyone else with a panny plasma possibly take a picture of that same scene. It's the PAL two towers at the start, would be interesting to see if it looks clean on anyone else's that's all.

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  12. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
  13. rscott4563

    rscott4563
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Andy, to save time could you post the times of the scenes you've used. I'll check it out and grab some images when I get back from work.

    Cheers

    Ryan
     
  14. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    Well I'll be damned, I've just checked the start of the two towers on a tv/dvd portable in my daughters bedroom and the banding is apparent on there as well! So it doesn't look like it's the plasma, phew! I think I just need it all setting up properly to be honest, suspect when I get my new projector everything will look fantastic...

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  15. ihan

    ihan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +25
    Thanks for that. It looks like the HD purchase is back on then. Re: Dead Pixel; I thought it looked too large to be just one on the tv - LOL.

    During the introduction to 'unforgiven' (the orange sunset) , or the start of 'the abyss' where the submarine comes toward you, I see banding effects. I would be grateful (if you have either of those films) if you could check them for me.

    Regards,
    ihan
     
  16. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    zandy
    i have viera and ntsc two towers its excellent something amiss?
    regards red
     
  17. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    [​IMG]

    looks OK to me
     
  18. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,625
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,746
    Mine is the PAL version of the two towers. As for whether it's worth upgrading to the HD panel, you should see Euro1080 or the Astra HD demo channel, they look absolutely fantastic, none of the issues I've highlighted here at all...

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...