Is my new Sky HD box faulty?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by StellaFella, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. StellaFella

    StellaFella
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi folks,

    Advice is required!!!!!! Last week I had my Sky HD installed and so far have been very impressed with the whole set up.

    However, over the last week I have noticed that when I put the HD box into standby and go to bed, I can still hear a fan running inside. More worrying though is that this fan can still be heard in the morning when I come back to the box!!

    The box is on its own glass shelf, well ventilated and not near any other heat sources like a radiator etc.

    Having read some of the previous threads I have noticed a reboot is suggested by some to cure a noisy fan. Will something similar work for my HD box or does it need a replacement?

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.... :lease:
     
  2. ryanm1701

    ryanm1701
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    I had the same problem myself with my Sky HD box. Rebooting it is only temporary, it reoccurs afterwards. I found that if you turn off Sky Anytime, the problem goes away
     
  3. Jonathan405

    Jonathan405
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, mine does that sometimes. Turning it off at the wall, leaving for 30s or so then on again cures it. Reminds me of my PC

    Doesn't seem the most stable bit of kit

    I am on my third due to a wierd sound problem the engineer couldn't figure

    Made by Thomson on the cheap I suspect
     
  4. Bachstrad

    Bachstrad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +262
    If you subscribe to Movies, you should be aware that all your HD Film Premieres will 'go away' too if you disable Anytime. ;)

    ATB

    Max
     
  5. andijames

    andijames
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    I had this problem lately with my box. It's never happened before but all of a sudden after i switch it off the main fan starts up and it begins to sound like manchester airport all of a sudden. Only way to stop it seems to be turn off at the mains but i'm just hoping it doesn't start manifesting into more serious problems now. Had my box 17 months now so am a little concerned problems will start popping up!
     

Share This Page

Loading...