1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is my Laptop good to go for games?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by akki007, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Ive ordered a Sony Vaio Intel Pentium M 750 1.86 GHz. Its got 1gb RAM and NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 6400 with TurboCache™ 128MB.

    Can I play FIFA 2006 and Pro Evo 5?
     
  2. Uridium

    Uridium
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Should be OK for 6 months or so with some of the settings toned down.

    there's still no substitute for a desktop for max gaming though.
     
  3. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    ok, good. I just wanna play fifa and pro evo to be honest!
     
  4. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    Not sure about this thing, and turbo cache means it'll steal system ram when it feels like it, decent graphics cards for a laptop (those that are equivalent to a desktop one) seem to be pretty hard to come by and are expensive.

    The decent speed pentium m should help alot though, i should think the footy games will play ok, but i wouldn't expect doom3 or fear to fare aswell.
     
  5. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    cool, thats all i needed to know! its got a gig of ram so it should handle fifa. (I base this on pure speculation!)

    I dont like doom, gives me a headache and i have no idea what fear is.

    Will it play pong?
     
  6. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    As long as they don't re-invent it as a modern first person shooter :D
     
  7. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    My acer aspire 5024 laptop runs games like farcry and hl2 on max really well! :thumbsup:

    Age of empires 3 runs everything maxed out smooth apart from low AA. :(

    Bloody amazing for a laptop IMHO, especially when it cost just over £700 :D

    Don't believe the hype about desktop computers, laptops are very capable machines these days and catching up with desktop pcs all the time! :thumbsup:
     
  8. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    what spec is your lappy? Whats pro evo 4 like? is there a difference between that and 5?
     
  9. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    Especialy with the ability to get ones with 7800GTX in them, making them give any modern desktop a run for its money. I'm guessing you got a lappy with say a ati x700pro, a desktop machine could be build for a similar ammount of money with a supperior graphics system, but would this enhance the enjoyment of the game?

    Plus you can't upgrade a laptop, but if you just buy a £700 laptop every 2 years then thats probably cheaper than you'd spend upgrading a desktop anyway.
     
  10. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    I have a desktop as well, and I agree £ for £ a desktop will always outperform a laptop. But then laptops are portable, and I much prefer them TBH.

    My laptop has:

    X700 pci-e gfx
    AMD Turion64 ML-34 1.8ghz processor
    1 gig ram
    wireless lan
    ethernet
    dvd burner
    100gb hdd
    15.4" WS WXGA display
     
  11. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Just to let you know, I cancelled the vaio I had on order after reading up a little more. I have now ordered an Acer 1694....

    Pentium M 760 2ghz
    1GB DDRII SDRAM
    100GB Hard Drive
    15.4" XGA Widescreen CrystalBrite
    ATI Mobility X700 PCI-E 128MB dedicated graphics (Which I think is a good thing???)

    Hopefully this machine will handle gaming a little better than the Vaio. Also, it only cost £950! magic!
     
  12. Uridium

    Uridium
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Probably a good choice, Acer are £ for £ decent quality and spec and vastly underated.

    Have had first hand experience of Sony support and it is pi** poor.
     
  13. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Yeah, I stumbled accross the acer gear, the specs look really top notch for the price. cant complain. The only spec that it doesnt clarify is the speed of the HD. prob a slow spinner i would think.
     
  14. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    Acer is good, you made a good decition on the game front here.
     
  15. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Just got the Acer, playing PES5 is amazing!!! Perfect speed at highest res!!! Am loving it muchly.

    DVDs look spot on too! Lovely piece of kit!
     
  16. RoughRider

    RoughRider
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wimbledon
    Ratings:
    +3
    Delighted to find this thread I just got the Acer Ferrari my spec reads like Akki007's but 2.0 Ghz processor and quite a lot more £££ - and as yet I have NO games, so I came here to find out what to buy. I used to love Lemmings, C&C, Civilisation, Mortal Kombat and Doom in the old days. Need to find out what this PES5 thing is also heard a lot about Farcry. Sounds like I can play most things anyway - great news. :clap:
     
  17. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Mine is also 2ghz!

    I would buy PES5, its a football game (If you are english) or its a soccer game (if you are a yank). Either way, buy the fooker!

    I saw the Acer Ferarri, good spec, I just thought the ferarri badges made it look like a toy.
     
  18. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    I have an Acer Aspire 3610 and I want to play Blitzkreig 2 ? Do I have a chance, is it possible to upgrade the graphics cards in these laptops ? Can you buy a graphics card that plugs into the USB ?
     
  19. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Probably not, no. Is your graphics memory shared with main memory? How fast is the CPU/HDD etc?
     
  20. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    You can supprisingly buy a graphics card to plug into the usb, it is mainly for getting an extra monitor output for a laptop or desktop, but is no good for 3d games. You can't buy a 3d card to plug into the usb (and its unlikley to ever happen).

    You'll need a decent 3d card to play, well 3d games but if the game is 2d you've got a good chance of being able to play it on the laptop as it is.

    For 3d games, (3d) graphics card is the most important thing, and integrated ones by intel just aren't good enough in the slightest, a good indicator of a poor gaming card is if it steals main memory for its use. Memory is next about 512mb is standard and a 1gb is a better (and anything over 2gb is unlilkley to give any noticable difference). The the cpu is last on the list, given that is pretty recent the former two are more important factors.

    For 2d games cpu, then memory. The graphics card doesn't really come into it at all. This is because in a 2d game the cpu is doing all the work, in a 3d one the cpu passes all the graphics (which is the real difficult stuff) to the 3d card.
     
  21. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    semiskimmed posted this site in another thread, scans your pc and tells you what you can expect to get out of games and what you would need to upgrade.

    Good site, and will tell you exactly what you wanna know. When you get the laptop of course ;)

    http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest
     
  22. Singh400

    Singh400
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,369
    I can never get my head round people who buy laptops for gaming. Honestly, theres no point.

    As for the specs there fine, but don't expect to play any games that are released this year, with the all the settings cranked up!
     
  23. semiskimmed

    semiskimmed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +240
    for the majority of people im sure that the use for occasional gaming is the 2nd most improtant thing, having a mobile computer is first.
     
  24. hardiz

    hardiz
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    you guys are right acer is a good brand i have had an acer 5024 for a while now. AMD are gonna release dual core turions in the very near future, lets hope acer are gonna use them
     
  25. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Dual core Turion sounds ace! :smashin:
    How many years before we see them in a laptop under £1000 though. :(
     
  26. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    I have the Acer 5024 as well. It runs oblivion blindingly ATC.
     
  27. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Maybe of interest but i have the acer 3613,and put an extra 512mb memory in so got 768 ram and i downloaded the doom 3 demo to see if it would work,and it does but on low settings.Still quite good though i thought.
     

Share This Page

Loading...