Is lack of HDMI audio or HD audio decoding an issue?

Bingo76

Standard Member
Hi all,

A complete newbie to AV stufff, so would greaty appreciate any help.

I've got a budget of c. £1100 to get a telly and Blu-Ray surround sound. Was going down the Panasonic or Samsung all-in-one home cinema route, but after reading lots of comments on this site, have looked at seperates.

With some help from Richer, think I've nailed it, but if any one can see any issues with the below set-up, please let me know!

TV - Hitachi UT37MX70
AV receiver - Onkyo TXSR307
Speakers - Tannoy SFX5.1 Blk
Blu Ray - PS3
Ipod - Cambridge Audio Ipod dock

In addition, I'll want to connect up Sky HD, Xbox (old) and Wii.

With the above set-up in mind, I have 2 questons:

1. Richer proposed the BDP2500 Blu Ray player, but I think the extra £100 or so on the PS3 is worth it. While I'm sure a stand alone Blu Ray players will beat a PS3 on picture quality, will I really notice? (bearing in mind current tv is an old CRT)

2. Somewhere on this forum it says that the Onkyo TXSR307 doesn't have HDMI audio or HD audio decoding. Not entirely sure what this means, and will I miss this?

Any help greatly appreciated!
Cheers,
Paul.

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Arguably a stand-alone BD player will give you marginal better picture quality. Take a look in the Bluray players forum as there have been several heated debates on the issue. Remember the PS3 is a Bluray player plus a whole lot more but if you don't need the additional features the PS3 offers, e.g. internet browsing, media streaming, gaming and so on, go for a cheaper player and spend the difference on an amp with HD audio capability, which would be more future proof. The new HD audio formats are basically lossless. You can read up on them HERE. Personally I would avoid a bottom of the range receiver anyway, so I would look further up the Onkyo range.

Bingo76

Standard Member
Hi Dave,

Many thanks for the info - greatly appreciated.