Is it worth getting a good scart cable for Sky box?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Stevie G, May 31, 2002.

  1. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    Sorry....another interconnect question!

    My new telly's due tomorrow, and I'm wondering if it's worth paying like £30 for a good scart lead (one of the Thor ones from Maplin perhaps?!) to go from my [Grundig] Sky Digital box to the TV, or should I just get a cheapie Maxview digital scart lead from B&Q? Is the quality of the Sky box output sufficient enough to warrant paying for the lead?

    Thanks.....nearly all done now!
     
  2. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    It sure is mate I have a Gundig sky digibox connected to my Toshiba tv in ext av1 using a fully wired Ixos RGB scart cable which cost me £40 from dixons and it vastly improves on the £10 cable I used for years.

    I would recomend you get a Ixos scart all my interconnects are by Ixos and they seem very good value and the performance is superb.
     
  3. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thanks.... I'm getting the same Tosh you've got listed ( :) ) - should be here tomorrow.....wey hey!

    The component connecters I just got for the DVD to TV were Ixos too.
     
  4. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Good choice of tv mate I use my component input for connecting my Xbox and GC my dvd gives a superb picture through s-video but I would use component if my amp had another component input.

    Good luck with finding a good scart and enjoy your new tv.
     
  5. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to use a £10 standard SCART from my Panasonic Digibox to my Panasonic 36PF10, I thought the pic was OK. I then swapped that for a £30 Profigold SCART... the pic improved in clarity without a doubt. I then used a £90 Ecosse Armageddon SCART (RGB only - no audio) and it just made the picture jump up a league... no more smearing or anything, just a rock solid, clear as a bell picture.

    I also run a Russ Andrews YellO power cable to my Digibox, running from a YellO extension with Silencer connected, which probably doesn't help the picture but makes my front room look impressive.
     
  6. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    What about the squart ones? Are they any good?
     
  7. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The QED Squarts seem to get universally good reviews. I don't think you'd go too far wrong buying one of those. They're also quite keenly priced for what you get.
     
  8. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would recommend also the IXOS scart cable, i wouldn't bother with seperate cables as the sky digi box output doesn't really warrant the expense of seperate audio and visual cables. This is what i found with my pace sky digi box to my Sony FD1E.
     
  9. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
  10. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using this Ixos cable

    I'm using a 1.5M, you have to decide the length you'll need, i've always been told shorter the better, see it's all lies bigger is not better :eek:
     
  11. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    :mad: AARRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! Bl00dy Allders have messed it up and can't deliver now 'til next Saturday! That's a quarter of the way through the world cup! Gits.....! Retards....! Admin error.......how difficult is it to arrange a delivery....?!

    Not happy.... :mad:
     
  12. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thanks....I could probably get away with the .75m one.....
     
  13. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +158
    Yep, I'm another satisfied owner of IXOS SCART cables.
    Big improvement on my STB and DVD pic quality, and they're even going thru a SCART switch box.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice