Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

is it safe

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by MrFurious, Feb 20, 2003.

  1. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,888
    to disconnect the fan from my graphics card,it is making one hell of a noise!!!:mad:
     
  2. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    40,289
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +6,685
    Can you gat a replacement fan? Or does your guarantee cover it?
    You could also get a fan that will go under it and use a PCI slot area, and expel air out of the back of you computer, you can pick them up for round £5.
     
  3. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    40,289
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +6,685

    Attached Files:

  4. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,888
    cheers Garett,luckily my mate who built my pc owns his own pc company and i just rang him and i am upgrading the card tonight:devil:
     
  5. backtothefuture

    backtothefuture
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMHO those fans are big trouble... they don't though what they're supposed to (ie lower system temps) and make a heck of a racket! I got one and it raised my CPU temp by 5C!
     
  6. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,442
    Sorry but I've gotta ask how are you guys measuring CPU temperature :confused:
    This is summat thats always puzzled me.
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    BIOS reports it, CPU has it's own thermal resistor thingy.
     
  8. alextgreen

    alextgreen
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
  9. backtothefuture

    backtothefuture
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    depending on which mobo you have, you can either see it in the BIOS or use the supplied software that came with it .. I use ASUS Probe , since I got an Asus mobo.
     
  10. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    40,289
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +6,685
    I’ve just been in touch with my mate who knows something about computers; he said you would be better getting a replacement fan for you doggy one. The exhaust blower would not be good enough.
    As to the cpu temperature rising, if the case has a perfect air flow adding a exhaust blower could alter this flow. But on my case it blows a lot heat out, and is directly under my graphic card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice