Is it safe to plug my iPod into someone else's computer?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by danwalton, Mar 8, 2006.

Tags:
  1. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +131
    I can't find an option in iTunes 6 to turn off the auto update. Does this mean that Apple realised people didn't want to have their iPod's wiped and updated with someone else's stuff if they plug in to charge up? I presume that now if I were plug my iPod into someone else's computer running iTunes 6 then I would be asked if I wanted to update, rather than it being automatic? Anyone know anything about this? :)
     
  2. Happytab

    Happytab
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    As I understand it, it all depends on your mates settings. You only get to change to Manual Syncing with an ipod connected - he could connect his ipod - change to manual syncing and then you could plug yours in. I think you could also plug yours in without opening I-tunes and still charge yours but don't quote me on that.
     
  3. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +131
    but iTunes opens automatically when you plug an iPod in. Thanks anyway :)
     
  4. monkeypete

    monkeypete
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +13
    I tried this a while ago and if I remember correctly iTunes will notice that you've connected an iPod that isn't synced with that computer so it will ask you if you want to sync it before is does anything.

    Just make sure you select do not update!
     

Share This Page

Loading...