Is it possible??

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by rb5201, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. rb5201

    rb5201
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +220
    My 360 has just died on me, as I hook up to xbox live through my pc is it possible the 360 could get a virus from it? Only have norton on the pc and have to turn off firewall to allow xbox live to work. Could this happen whilst I browse the internet or when I download stuff to my 360??

    If this is a really stupid question then please go easy on me as Im not a real computer wiz:D

    Just got me thinking and then worrying :confused:
     
  2. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +481
    You turned the firewall off:eek: couldnt you configure it to allow xbox through, do all xbox owners do this, its asking for trouble.
     
  3. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,563
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +176
    i have to turn zone alarm off as i cant connect with it on. cant work out how to configue it to let the x box to connect
     
  4. m40wen

    m40wen
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +32
    Doubt it, only xboxs can communicate with each other cant they, though I am sure that hackers will try over time. Technically possible though.
     
  5. rb5201

    rb5201
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +220
    Had to, tried everything, took me a while to figure it was firewall stopping it from working!! Xbox support confirmed this at the time, and there no way round it.
     
  6. duke748

    duke748
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Mid Sussex
    Ratings:
    +34
    Lose norton and download sygate personal firewall free edition - much better
    You can then configure port forwarding to on the xbox live ports.

    On your xbox being dead from the update check

    http://www.xbox-scene.com/xbox1data/sep/EEuEAuFZyyUnJTBiWa.php

    seems a few people have had problems with their machines dying after installing update
     
  7. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    never use norton it uses far too much system resources and fails to proberly protect.
     
  8. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,584
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +608
    There are currently no Xbox virus's
     
  9. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Good news..there is a way around it...add the 360's IP address to the trusted zone in norton and you should be OK!

     
  10. Vini

    Vini
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +66

    :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...