1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to link a DVD player to two amps?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by rudy, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want to put an av amp in 1 room and music in two seperate rooms off 1 source.

    Any advice?
     
  2. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Look for an amp that has "Zone 2" facilities.
     
  3. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Zone 2 ??? Me novice, you expert!

    Thanks for help, that could be just what i need.

    Can i get one of these for under 400 quid?
     
  4. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    You will have lots of options.

    Something like this, could be used as a starting point
    http://www1.shopping.com/xPF-Yamaha_RX_V650

    But Marantz, Denon, & Pioneer (and other), have models in your price range. Then there are 2nd hand ex-flagship models that are also candidates.

    Cheers
     
  5. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Harry
     
  6. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    My pleasure. Hope it solves your situation.
     
  7. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    Some amps will only output an analog signal to Zone 2, so watch out for that.

    Another option if you already have two amps is just connect the dvd player via both digital outputs e.g one amp connected via optical, the other via digital coaxial. Most dvd players will have both optical and coaxial outputs.

    If one of your amps doesn't have a digital input then you could connect to it via a pair of analog phono cables.
     

Share This Page

Loading...