1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to capture digital TV (sky and cable, not just Freeview?)

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by swin70, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. swin70

    swin70
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi,

    I know there are cards on the market that will allow you to capture and tune to individual Freeview terrestrial digital channels (in the UK), but is there a way of directly capturing and tuning individual sky digital or better yet for my purposes, digital cable channels?

    I specifically subscribe to NTL’s home cable service but their set top box is very limited, with only 2 SCART and RF output. No SPDIF.

    I would like to utilise a PCI card to tune and capture these digital channels in exactly the same way that Freeview card does, doe anyone know of a solution? I realise that I could get an ordinary RF TV tuner card and you the RF out of the box and tune to that, but I am then dependant on having the box near the HTPC and recording whatever I’m viewing.

    It’s not that the Freeview package isn’t worth considering, it’s just that it doesn’t show the one channel that I seem to watch the majority of the time – Sky One.

    Chris
     
  2. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    No,
    You won't find a sky digital or cable tuner card.
    Best you can do is get a decent video capture card and record either s-video or RGB from a standalone tuner box.

    You'll find plenty of infop on here about them. I'd recommend an Xcapture for s-video or a sweetspot for RGB .
     
  3. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    I don't know if it progressed very far but when I was in the London tech support of Hauppage they did have a USB Digital TV box with a card slot for exactly that purpose.

    I ditched the Hauppage anyway and now use a Nebula PCI card, it's miles ahead of the Hauppage Digital TV one I had (Dec 2000 methinks, and I seem to recall DEC 3000 for the satellite one if memory serves me well).

    Steve
     
  4. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    You can get a digital satellite PCI card, but it won't decode sky as the encryption system is unique and there is no way on earth that sky will allow it to be used on a PC - it would be cracked within days and mr murdoch doesn't like that idea. The PCI cards available can be used to receive European broadcasts which have less fussy encryption.

    HTH
    Owain
     
  5. swin70

    swin70
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Does this also apply to Cable?

    I'm sure I read in PC Plus or some PC magazine that this WAS possible, although they didn't go on to say how.

    Chris
     
  6. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    AFAIK, yes it applies equally to cable.

    :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...