1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it ok to join Coax cable?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by hamd01, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. hamd01

    hamd01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +92
    I have just bought a new digital areial, along with 10m of cable. Typically the cable is too short, and I need to add 5m to it. Is it ok to join two coax cables together or am i going to loose signal strength?

    I was thinking about putting a male on one cable and a female on the other, and plugging them together.... is that the best way to join them?

    Thanks in advance

    David
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Not ideal as you probably know but as long as you terminate the leads well then I can't imagine it being a problem. :)
     
  3. hamd01

    hamd01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +92
    For fear of sounding incredibly stupid..... terminate the leads??
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Putting the connectors on the ends is known as terminating. They are terminals after all. :)
     
  5. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    just solder the 2 lengths of wire together
     
  6. rowlandhills

    rowlandhills
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Baldock
    Ratings:
    +18
    Wouldn't it be almost as cheap, probably easier, and certainly better quality, to just buy 15m of cable rather than 5, and then have one run all the way?
     
  7. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    That would be the better option indeed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...