Is HTCP the "one box solution"

safensane

Standard Member
Hi all,
This is my first time on this forum and have been doing a lot of research through numerous arenas to try to get the answer to all my questions before I go ahead and make the jump to buying / having built a HTCP (I aint clever enough to DIY though i'm sure i could get the help here to make it work).
First things first, my current set up.........
Living room - Sony 46" LCD telly with IDTV, Sky+ (not HD), Sony 400 disc (remember them?) CD player, Denon AVR 3802 amp / receiver, into mission FS2 sub and semi flat panel speakers.
Rest of house - signal comes out of back of Sky box to powered splitter in lofdt sendinng signal to 5 other rooms with ability to watch either Sky, recorded sky or the TV's own digital / analogue signal there.

What do i want?
  1. Well a box of tricks that will allow me to put my pictures, videos, films and music in one place to show friends when they come round.
  2. Access to radio (analogue is fine but DAB would be better), digital TV, FTA Sat channels including freesat (and i don't think it can be easily done at the moment) the possibility to get rid of the sky box and put my viewing card into the PC or watch British Eurosport via the same box of tricks at a decent quality i.e not live streaming.
  3. A PVR which is as simple and intuative to use as sky+ including the programming scheduler and series link features.
  4. To get rid of the majority of boxes from under the TV.
  5. A single remote control to select all the above features
As above, I have sought much advice from knowledgable chaps, the internet, media centre buiilders / suppliers websites and the extremely useful sticky link on this very site.

My proposed build at this time (and this changes daily at the moment is:-
  • Case - Thermaltek DH103 case (big fans with low speed and rather shhhhhhh).
  • CPU - Intel quad core 2.66 chipset (7.1 audio, DDR3)